1. National

Messi's record Ballon d'Or win

Barcelona and Argentine forward Lionel Messi has won football's most prestigious individual award, the Ballon d'Or, for a record fourth consecutive time. he beat Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo, who was second, and Barca teammate Andres Iniesta.

View all 18 updates ›

Ballon d'Or: Messi, Ronaldo and Iniesta up for major award

The Ballon d'Or, football's most prestigious individual award, will be given to one of Lionel Messi, Andres Iniesta or Cristiano Ronaldo at a gala ceremony tonight.

Lionel Messi is the bookies favourite to win the Ballon d'Or. Credit: REUTERS/Felix Ordonez

Messi, who is the bookies favourite, could become the most decorated player in history if he wins an unprecedented fourth Ballon d'Or.

Although Messi's Barcelona only won the Copa del Rey in 2012, it was an impressive year for the Argentinian, who broke Gerd Muller's long-held record of the most goals in a calendar year.

Iniesta helped Spain win the European Championships, while Ronaldo was pivotal in Real Madrid's La Liga win.

More top news