Four Liberal Democrat MPs vote against benefits cap

The four Liberal Democrat MPs who voted against capping benefits are as follows:

  • MP for Bradford East David Ward
  • MP for Cambridge Julian Huppert
  • MP for Manchester Withington John Leech
  • MP for Brent Central Sarah Teather

The former Liberal Democrat leader Charles Kennedy and MP for St Ives Andrew George voted in both lobbies - the traditional way of registering an abstention.


MPs vote for 1% benefits cap

MPs have voted in favour of a proposed 1 per cent cap on raising benefits by a majority of 56. Ministers say the cap is needed because it is unfair that state handouts have been rising twice as fast as wages during recent years of austerity.