1. National

Inaugural FA England awards

The inaugural Football Association (FA) England Awards are taking place at St. George's Park. As part of the FA's 150th anniversary year celebrations, 11 awards are being presented in what will become an annual event.

View all 15 updates ›

Keegan picks Glen Johnson as England player of the year

Glen Johnson playing for England in a World Cup qualifier against Ukraine. Credit: Adam Davy/EMPICS Sport

Ahead of this evening's inaugural FA Awards, former national coach Kevin Keegan has declared defender Glen Johnson as his England Player of 2012.

He explained: “This year he has been a model of consistency for me and he just edges it over Joe Hart.

“This year Glen has matured and he looks the part. He looks very comfortable playing at that level which is not always easy to do. He's definitely been consistent and he's made a major contribution from his position."

More top news