1. National

Inaugural FA England awards

The inaugural Football Association (FA) England Awards are taking place at St. George's Park. As part of the FA's 150th anniversary year celebrations, 11 awards are being presented in what will become an annual event.

View all 15 updates ›

Steven Gerrard named England's Player of the Year

Steven Gerrard recently won his 100th cap for his country. Credit: Nick Potts/PA Wire

England captain Steven Gerrard has been named the Senior Men's Player of the Year at tonight's inaugural FA Awards.

The Liverpool star came top with Manchester United striker Danny Welbeck in second and Chelsea left-back Ashley Cole in third.

More top news