1. National

N-word controversy at awards

The Professional Footballers’ Association have accused a comedian of making “offensive” remarks during his stand-up routine at their awards ceremony – and have him to return his payment.

View all 10 updates ›

Gareth Bale only third player to take home two awards

Gareth Bale has become only the third person to be named the PFA player of the year and young player of the year in the same season.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Andy Gray won both awards in the same year in 2007 and 1997 respectively.

The winger joins Ronaldo, Thierry Henry, Alan Shearer and Mark Hughes in earning the main award twice.

More top news