11 G20 leaders: 'UN remains paralysed over Syria'

Leaders and representatives of 11 of the G20 leaders - Australia, Canada, France, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the US - have made the following joint statement on Syria:

Signatories have consistently supported a strong UN Security Council Resolution, given the Security Council's responsibilities to lead the international response, but recognize that the Council remains paralysed as it has been for two and a half years.

The world cannot wait for endless failed processes that can only lead to increased suffering in Syria and regional instability.

We support efforts undertaken by the United States and other countries to reinforce the prohibition on the use of chemical weapons.

We commit to supporting longer term international efforts, including through the United Nations, to address the enduring security challenge posed by Syria’s chemical weapons stockpiles.

Russia was notably absent from the list of leaders.