Eight further countries sign Syria statement

The fighting in Syria continues amid international wrangling over intervention Credit: REUTERS/Stringer

Another eight countries have signed on to a joint statement calling for a strong international response on Syria, the White House says.

Georgia, Guatemala, Kuwait, Malta, Montenegro, Panama, Poland and Portugal have today signed on to the statement which condemns in the strongest terms the Assad regime’s use of chemical weapons on August 21 in the suburbs of Damascus.

They join 33 countries, including the US, France, UK, Germany and Japan, who now formally support the statement.