1. National

Numbers replace GCSE grades

The GCSE A*-G grading system will be scrapped in favour of a numbered scale, under the biggest reforms of the exams for decades. An additional grade will be added into the system that will see students achieve grades of one to nine.

View all 10 updates ›

English and Maths are first to undergo grade revamp

Ofqual said English literature, English language and maths will be the first subjects to undergo GCSE grade changes - these three subjects account for around a third of GCSEs awarded in England each year.

  • The first three subjects to be revamped - English literature, English language and maths - are due to be taught in secondary schools in England from 2015, with the first exams taken in the summer of 2017.
  • A year later, in 2016, new GCSEs in science, history, geography and some modern foreign languages, as well as other subjects often taught in schools like RE and art, will be introduced to schools.
  • Ofqual will consult on the range of subjects that will carry the GCSE title in the future, a move which is likely to fuel speculation that some subjects may not be part of the brand.

More top news