Twitter rolls out 'mute button' for users

General view of the Twitter application in use on an iPad. Credit: Andrew Matthews/PA Archive

Twitter has announced that it is rolling out a mute function from today, enabling users of the social media platform to 'silence' users they do not want to see content from.

In an announcement on their blog, Twitter said that they will be rolling out the function to everyone 'in the coming weeks' which will give users "even more control of the content they see on Twitter".

The mute function will remove all content from a particular user, even instances of retweets, something that simply unfollowing an account doesn't do.

The muted user will not know that they have been muted and you can 'unmute' at any time.

To see how the mute feature will work, you can read the Twitter blog post here.