Privacy settings on Facebook will change with updates by new users set to only be shared with their friends.
Previously, the default setting was for all updates to be made "public" and visible to anyone who uses the social networking site. However, after feedback from Facebook users, the company has decided to change this in a bid to increase privacy.
A Facebook spokesman said: "While some people want to post to everyone, others have told us that they are more comfortable sharing with a smaller group, like just their friends.
"We recognise that it is much worse for someone to accidentally share with everyone when they actually meant to share just with friends, compared with the reverse."
The feature will begin to appear over the coming weeks and it was among several adjustments made to improve the site's privacy, Facebook said.