1. National

Redknapp refuses to 'name names' in England duty row

Harry Redknapp has refused Steven Gerrard's demand to name and shame the ex-Tottenham stars the Premier League boss claims skipped England duty. He said: "I don't want to get into naming names because it wouldn't be fair to the players."

View all 86 updates ›

Hodgson announces England lineup for Costa Rica

Ross Barkley will make his first major championship start for England. Credit: PA

Roy Hodgson has announced the England starting 11 for the World Cup group game against Costa Rica tomorrow.

Goalkeeper Joe Hart, defenders Phil Jagielka, Glenn Johnson and Leighton Baines, midfielders Steven Gerrard and Jordan Henderson and attackers Wayne Rooney and Raheem Sterling are all dropped from the side that lost to Uruguay.

The team in full: Foster; Shaw, Cahill, Smalling, Jones; Wilshere, Lampard, Milner; Barkley, Lallana, Sturridge.

More on this story