Vincenzo Nibali crowned Tour de France champion

Italian Vincenzo Nibali has won the 2014 Tour de France after enjoying a safe passage to Paris in the ceremonial final stage.

Germany's Marcel Kittel won the sprint finish on the Champs Elysees to take the race's 21st stage while Nibali came home safely with the main body of riders to complete his overall victory.

Astana rider Vincenzo Nibali has inherited Chris Froome's Tour de France title after the British rider crashed out of the race in its first week. Credit: Sirotti/PA Images