Advertisement

ICC admit umpiring mistake at finish of Australia vs England World Cup match

The International Cricket Council has confirmed that James Anderson was incorrectly given out at the end of England's heavy defeat to Australia in their World Cup opener.

James Anderson (left) and James Taylor trudge off at the end of the match. Credit: JULIAN SMITH/AAP/Press Association

Anderson was adjudged run out in a farcical conclusion to the match, as both sets of players were left unsure by the ruling of the on-field officials.

James Taylor had correctly reviewed an lbw decision, but replays also showed that Anderson was short of his ground, so Kumar Dharmasena gave him out.

The ICC revealed in a statement that the ball should have been called dead and that they had met with the England management to confirm the error.

"Following Australia's 111-run victory over England in the Group A ICC Cricket World Cup clash at Melbourne Cricket Ground on Saturday night, the Playing Control Team (PCT) met and reviewed the final ball of the game which resulted in James Anderson being given run out," the statement read.

"Article 3.6a of Appendix 6 of the Decision Review System (DRS) Playing Conditions states that the ball should have been deemed dead when the batsman (James Taylor) was given out leg before wicket (lbw). No further runs or dismissals were possible."