1. ITV Report

Wales votes for new Police Commissioners

The four police forces in Wales will have new Police and Crime Commissioners Photo: ITV News Wales

Voting is taking place at polling stations to chose the first elected Police and Crime Commissioners for all four Welsh forces.

The new commissioners will replace police authorities and will have the power to set budgets and appoint chief constables, but will have no say in running day-to-day operations.

The UK government says the new system will make the police more accountable to the public, by introducing a democratic vote for choosing commissioners.

The polls will be open until 10pm tonight with counting taking place on Friday. The results are expected by early afternoon on Friday.

The following candidates are standing for election:-

Dyfed Powys Police: Christine Gwyther (Labour) and Christopher Salmon (Conservative)

Gwent Police: Ian Johnston (independent), Hamish Sandison (Labour), Nick Webb (Conservative) and Christopher Wright (independent)

North Wales Police: Richard Hibbs (independent), Colin McCabe (Conservative), Tal Michael (Labour), Warwick Nicholson (UKIP) and Winston Roddick (independent)

South Wales Police: Michael Baker (independent), Caroline Jones (Conservative), Alun Michael (Labour) and Tony Verderame (independent)

More on this story