1. ITV Report

South Africa v Wales: what you need to know for kick off

Fourie Du Preez and Sam Warburton will lead their teams out at Twickenham for the first game of the knockout stages. Credit: PA

What time’s kick off? Wales take on South Africa at Twickenham at 4pm.

How can I watch it? Our live match coverage with Fran Donovan starts at 3pm. She’ll be joined by former Wales players Dafydd James, Mike Hall and Phil Davies. You can also follow the match live on the ITV Rugby World Cup app. If you can’t watch the game, Nick Hartley will have the highlights at 11.35pm. He’ll be joined by Dafydd James, Mike Hall and Jonathan Thomas.

Why does it matter so much? We’re through the pool stages, but now into sudden death in the quarter-finals. Whichever side loses goes home, while the victor will face the winner of the quarter-final between New Zealand and France.

Wales have only beaten South Africa once in their past 10 meetings. Credit: WRU

The last time Wales played the Springboks was in November last year, when Wales won 12-6, but lost their three previous test meetings 31-30, 38-16, 15-20.

Read more: Warburton confident of Wales' chance against the Springboks

Who are the players to look out for? Warren Gatland’s made three changes, bringing Dan Lydiate, Tyler Morgan and Gethin Jenkins back into his starting line-up. Lydiate will team up with Sam Warburton and Taulupe Faletau in the back-row for a record seventh time in the World Cup. Alun-Wyn Jones will make his 94th appearance for Wales, bring his international tally to 100 when added to his six run-outs for the British and Irish Lions.

JP Pietersen resumes his partnership with record-try scorer Bryan Habana. Credit: PA

South Africa have recalled winger JP Pietersen to their starting line-up. He’s recovered from a knee injury and is the only change coach Heyneke Meyer has made to the side that beat USA 64-0 in the final pool game. He resumes his partnership with Bryan Habana, who’s the tournament’s top try-scorer with five tries so far

Wales team:

Gareth Anscombe, Alex Cuthbert, Tyler Morgan, Jamie Roberts, George North, Dan Biggar, Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Gethin Jenkins, Scott Baldwin, Samson Lee, Luke Charteris, Alun Wyn Jones, Dan Lydiate, Sam Warburton, Taulupe Faletau.

Replacements: Ken Owens, Paul James, Tomas Francis, Bradley Davies, Justin Tipuric, Lloyd Williams, Rhys Priestland, James Hook.

South Africa team:

Willie Le Roux, JP Pietersen, Jesse Kriel, Damian De Allende, Bryan Habana, Handré Pollard, Fourie Du Preez, Duane Vermeulen, Schalk Burger, Francois Louw, Lood De Jager, Eben Etzebeth, Frans Malherbe, Bismarck Du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira.

Replacements: Adriaan Strauss, Trevor Nyakane, Jannie Du Plessis, Pieter-Steph Du Toit, Willem Alberts, Ruan Pienaar, Pat Lambie, Jan Serfontein.

More on this story