Advertisement

  1. ITV Report

Wales awaiting news of possible bite on George North

Credit: David Davies/PA Wire/PA Images

Wales are waiting to hear if any action will be taken after claiming there was 'evidence to suggest' wing George North had been bitten during Saturday's 6 Nations match against France.

Video footage proved inconclusive after referee Wayne Barnes stopped the game during 20 minutes of added time at Stade de France.

Match citing commissioner John Montgomery has until 5pm on Monday to decide whether any incident should be reported and a disciplinary hearing convened, after no on-pitch action followed the claims.

World Rugby's sanctions for biting start at a 12 week suspension for a low end offence, rising to 24 weeks and above for top end incidents.

Wales' interim head coach Rob Howley agrees that 'the evidence was inconclusive in terms of the images that were shown to the referees, and ultimately they've made a decision on that and it is absolutely fine.'

I am 100 per cent behind that decision in terms of the pictures they saw. Obviously, there is evidence to suggest otherwise on George's arm. The evidence suggests there is a bite. The referee only had one angle. I haven't seen any other angles, so unfortunately it is inconclusive and you move on. I am sure you can ask George if you can have a look at his arm. There is evidence to suggest that there is a bite.

– Rob Howley, Wales interim head coach

The North episode was part of a highly controversial finale, which was dominated by France sending prop Rabah Slimani back on as France scored a late converted try to win 20 - 18.

Slimani had earlier been replaced, but the France team doctor insisted that initial prop substitute Uini Atonio needed a head injury assessment, allowing Slimani to go back on as France attacked Wales' line through a series of scrums.

The North episode was part of a highly-controversial finale at Stade de France, which was dominated by France questionably sending prop Rabah Slimani back on as Les Bleus posted a late converted try to win 20-18.. Slimani had earlier been replaced, but the France team doctor insisted that initial prop substitute Uini Atonio needed a head injury assessment, therefore allowing Slimani to go back on as France laid siege to Wales' line through a series of scrums.