1. ITV Report

Wales name squad for 2017 Women's World Cup

Carys Phillips will continue to captain Wales for the 2017 Women's Rugby World Cup in Ireland.

Wales in action against England during a Women's 6 Nations match Credit: PA

The tournament kicks off in Dublin on Wednesday 9th August and Wales will face New Zealand, Canada - second and third seeds respectively - and Hong Kong over the course of eight days.

There's a tremendous amount of excitement within the squad for those pool games.

There's a real enthusiasm among the team about facing two of the top nations in the game, because you play international rugby in order to compete against the best.

– Rowland Phillips, Wales women head coach

Elen Evans, Sioned Harries, Shona Powell-Hughes, Elinor Snowsill and Rachel Taylor are some of those set to feature in their third Women's Rugby World Cup. In contrast, 17-year-old back rower Lleucu George could be in line to gain her first full cap for Wales.

Lleucu's inclusion highlights the value of our warm-up matches.

She was outstanding in the game against Japan, and showed some natural qualities that we are trying to develop.

We've given new players opportunities over the past few weeks, and she's one who's grasped them with both hands.

Physically, she's more than capable enough to deal with the rigours of international rugby, which is impressive for someone so young, but we'll be smart with how we manage her.

– Rowland Phillips, Wales women head coach

Wales Women's squad for the 2017 Women's Rugby World Cup:

Forwards: Alisha Butchers (Scarlets); Mel Clay (Ospreys); Amy Evans (Ospreys); Lleucu George (Scarlets); Cerys Hale (Dragons); Sioned Harries (Scarlets); Morfudd Ifans (Scarlets); Kelsey Jones (Ospreys); Siwan Lillicrap (Ospreys); Carys Phillips (captain, Ospreys); Shona Powell-Hughes (Ospreys); Gwenllian Pyrs (Scarlets); Rebecca Rowe (Dragons); Rachel Taylor (Scarlets); Caryl Thomas (Scarlets); Megan York (Dragons).

Backs: Keira Bevan (Ospreys); Elen Evans (Scarlets); Jodie Evans (Scarlets); Rebecca De Filippo (Dragons); Dyddgu Hywel (Scarlets); Hannah Jones (Scarlets); Jasmine Joyce (Scarlets); Sian Moore (Dragons); Jess Kavanagh-Williams (Scarlets); Gemma Rowland (Dragons); Elinor Snowsill (Dragons); Robyn Wilkins (Ospreys).

Wales Women's Pool A fixtures: New Zealand v Wales, Wednesday 9th August (14:45), Billings Park UCD; Canada v Wales, Sunday 13th August (17:00), Billings Park UCD; Wales v Hong Kong, Thursday 17th August (17:15), UCD Bowl.