Labour hold by-election seat

Labour's Stephen Doughty is the new MP for Cardiff South and Penarth. He won by 5,334 votes, a small increase on the majority claimed by his predecessor Alun Michael in 2010.

Live updates


Just two votes at one polling station

Just two ballots were submitted at one polling station in Cardiff South and Penarth, according to the returning officer at the by-election count.

The majority of ballot boxes from around the constituency are now collected at the Sport Wales National Centre, where the count is taking place, with initial indications of a turnout below 30%.

The returning officer says he thinks the November date is 'a significant issue', but also puts it down to a 'drag effect' from apathy around the Police and Crime Commissioner election, and 'electoral fatigue' after the local elections earlier this year.


Eight parties field by-election candidates

There will be eight candidates on the ballot paper in Cardiff South and Penarth, where voters go to the polls on November 15. Their names were published after nominations closed today.

  • Stephen Doughty (Labour)
  • Robert Griffiths (Communist)
  • Andrew Jordan (Socialist Labour)
  • Bablin Molik (Liberal Democrat)
  • Luke Nicholas (Plaid Cymru)
  • Anthony Slaughter (Green)
  • Craig Williams (Conservative)
  • Simon Zeigler (UKIP)
Load more updates Back to top

Latest ITV News reports