London 2012 stars get honours

Olympic and Paralympic gold medallists Jade Jones, Mark Colbourne, Josie Pearson and Aled Sion Davies are recognised in the New Year Honours list. British cycling mastermind Dave Brailsford, originally from North Wales, is knighted.

View all 9 updates ›

Honours for Welsh politicians

Roger Williams has been MP for Brecon and Radnorshire since 2001 Credit: Johnny Green / PA Archive / Press Association Images

Several Welsh politicians have also been recognised on the New Year Honours list. Liberal Democrat MP Roger Williams has been given a CBE for public and political service.

Dr Rodney Berman, who was the Liberal Democrat leader of Cardiff Council until May 2012, has been given an OBE for services to local government and the community in Cardiff.

More top news