Warren Gatland names RBS 6 Nations squad

Wales' head coach has named his squad for the RBS 6 Nations tournament. Wales will attempt to make history by defending their title and becoming the only team to win the tournament three years in a row.

View all 4 updates ›

Gatland: 'We've got an opportunity to create history'

The squad will aim to become the first side to win the title three years in a row Credit: PA Images

Following the announcement of the Wales squad for the RBS 6 Nations Tournament, Warren Gatland says he's looking forward to the challenge of defending the title.

Despite injury concerns, prop Gethin Jenkins is included in the squad alongside captain Sam Warburton who will return from a shoulder injury.

The tournament kicks off for Wales at the Millennium Stadium against Italy on 1st February.

"Last year was a fantastic year and I'm really excited to be back involved and this year is going to be a big challenge for us.

"We have got an opportunity to create history and that is something we will focus on and something that will give us extra motivation.

"We have got the three games at home and two touch away games but when we won the Grand Slam in 2008 and 2012 we had these fixtures so we know it can be done.

"Talking to the coaches we were a little bit slow starting last year and we know we need to start well on February 1st. We've picked a pretty experienced squad and kept it fairly tight at this stage".

"We know there are some politics going on at the moment but we will put that to one side, come together as a group and focus on the rugby and what we can control. We can't wait to kick off the tournament at home against Italy.

"There is nothing better than playing in the best stadium in the world with the Welsh fans behind us singing."



Paul James (Bath), Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Ryan Bevington (Ospreys), Richard Hibbard (Ospreys), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Emyr Phillips (Scarlets), Adam Jones (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Rhodri Jones (Scarlets)

Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Luke Charteris (Perpignan), Ian Evans (Ospreys), Andrew Coombs (Dragons), Ryan Jones (Ospreys), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Sam Warburton Capt (Cardiff Blues), Toby Faletau (Dragons), Dan Lydiate (Racing Metro), Aaron Shingler (Scarlets).


Rhodri Williams (Scarlets), Mike Phillips (Racing Metro), Rhys Webb (Ospreys), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), James Hook (Perpignan)

Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), George North (Northampton Saints), Leigh Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues), Liam Williams (Scarlets).

More top news