Report calls for reduction in number of Welsh councils

A report into the way public services are run here in Wales recommends a reduction in the number of local councils to 10 or 12.

View all 16 updates ›

Williams Commission: Proposed new Welsh councils

The report from the Williams Commission proposes the following council mergers:

  • Anglesey and Gwynedd
  • Conwy and Denbighshire
  • Flintshire and Wrexham
  • Ceredigion and Pembrokeshire
  • Neath Port Talbot and Bridgend
  • Rhondda Cynon Taf and Merthyr Tydfil
  • Cardiff and the Vale of Glamorgan
  • Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly and Torfaen
  • Monmouthshire and Newport

If Carmarthenshire, Powys and Swansea are left unchanged, there would be 12 local authorities. The Commission says this "represents the minimum viable level of change".

It suggests that Swansea could join the combined Neath Port Talbot and Bridgend, with Carmarthenshire joining Ceredigion and Pembrokeshire.

More top news