Live updates

'You're a jerk', Bristol Mayor tells protestor

The confrontation happened at a Make Sunday Special event in Avonmouth. Credit: Ian Robinson/YouTube

George Ferguson has been caught on video calling a protestor "sick" and "a jerk".

An environmental protestor dressed as a fly confronted the Bristol Mayor about pollution at the Avonmouth Make Sunday Special event.

The free community event is one of several held around the city. The protestor, Ian Robinson, is an Avonmouth resident who campaigns on pollution in the area. He confronted the mayor with accusations of closing public services and diverting money into "bread and circuses".

The mayor told him people were enjoying the event and that he should "just go away".

The mayor has yet to comment on the incident, but tweeted about the event being a success.


Marvin Rees is Labour's candidate for Bristol mayor

Credit: ITV News

Marvin Rees will again be battling George Ferguson in next year's election for Bristol mayor.

Working in public health, Mr Rees ran against George Ferguson in 2012 - and was the current mayor's closest rival, losing by 5% of the vote.

He beat Labour Councillor Mark Bradshaw to the nomination - who was fired from the mayor's cabinet in June. after George Ferguson accused him of playing 'party politics'.

Bristolians will go to the polls to choose their mayor in May 2016.

Marvin Rees was George Ferguson's closest rival in Bristol's last mayoral election. Credit: ITV News

“I am thrilled to be selected by my friends and peers in the Labour Party as their candidate to be Bristol Mayor, and I would like to thank Mark for a great campaign.

I am passionate about standing up and fighting for the people of Bristol and the things I know we need for this city to thrive. We need to do a different style of politics and to put people’s needs first and foremost in everything we do."

– Marvin Rees, Labour’s candidate for Bristol Mayor
  1. West Country (W)

Rail minister 'proud' of women-only carriages idea

Rail Minister and Devizes MP Claire Perry says she's "proud" to have suggested women-only train carriages last year as a way of making the railways safer.

Labour leadership frontrunner Jeremy Corbyn has come in for a string of criticism for suggesting the same thing in a speech last night. He said the idea could provide a solution to the rise in assault and harassment on public transport.

In an interview with Ian Axton, Perry said she wasn't embarrassed that she came up with the idea and commissioned research into it from Middlesex University - research which changed her views.


Bristol MP backs Andy Burnham as next Labour leader

Bristol MP Kerry McCarthy has backed MP Andy Burnham as the next Labour leader.

The representative for Bristol East was speaking after attending a rally hosted by the leadership candidate in the West Country this weekend.

Jeremy Corbyn the MP for Islington North is favourite for the position.

Labour leadership hopeful Andy Burnham. Credit: Joe Giddens / PA Images

New referendum possible on Bristol mayor

Bristol Mayor George Ferguson Credit: Rod Minchin/PA

People in Bristol could be given the right to scrap the post of mayor. George Ferguson was voted in after a poll three years ago which meant the post could never be abolished. But last night the House of Lords agreed to restore the rights of voters to hold a fresh referendum on the issue.

Bristol peer and former Liberal Democrat council leader Baroness Barbara Janke of Clifton successfully moved an amendment to Government legislation that would lift the restriction on holding a mayoral referendum in the future. The amendment will now go to the House of Commons for MPs to consider

“This is not a question of whether the mayor should be there or not: it is a question of the rights of local people. Many people in Bristol feel they were deceived during the mayoral referendum.

"At the time of the referendum, they were not told that they would have no way to alter this system. They were made many promises, which turned out not to be delivered by the then Government, because only one city opted for the elected mayor.

– Baroness Janke of Clifton

Government shelves vote on relaxing hunting rules

MPs were due to vote tomorrow on relaxing rules on hunting with dogs Credit: PA

The Government has shelved tomorrow's free vote on relaxing the rules on hunting with dogs. The majority of west country Conservative MPs were due to vote in favour of a motion which would allow full packs of hounds to flush out foxes. At the moment, just two dogs can be used to flush out a fox before it is shot.

The climbdown by the Government follows the SNPs decision to vote en masse against the change. That, combined with opposition from Labour and some Tories, meant there was little chance the new law could be passed.

Load more updates