Press Centre

The Americans

Published: Thu 16 May 2013


The information contained in this press pack is embargoed from press use, commercial and non-commercial reproduction and sharing - in the public domain - until Tuesday 28 May.
The Americans is a period drama about the complex marriage of two KGB spies posing as Americans in suburban Washington D.C. shortly after Ronald Regan is elected President.
The series is centered on Philip (Matthew Rhys) and Elizabeth (Keri Russell) Jennings, who have two children – 13-year-old Paige (Holly Taylor) and 10-year-old Henry (Keidrich Sellati), who know nothing about their parents’ true identity.
The arranged marriage of Philip and Elizabeth grows more passionate and genuine by the day, but is constantly tested by the escalation of the Cold War and the intimate, dangerous and darkly funny relationships they must maintain with a network of spies and informants under their control.  Philip’s growing sense of affinity for America’s values and ways of life further complicate the couple’s relationship.
Tensions also heighten upon the arrival of a new neighbor, Stan Beeman (Noah Emmerich), an FBI agent.  Stan and his partner, Agent Chris Amador (Maximiliano Hernandez) are members of a new division of Counterintelligence tasked with fighting against foreign agents on U.S. soil, including KGB Directorate S illegals, Russian spies posing as Americans.
The Americans, from executive producer/showrunner Joe Weisberg (“Falling Skies”), alongside executive producer Graham Yost (“Justified”), is set in the final years of the Cold War and was inspired by the FBI’s arrests of multiple KGB sleeper agents living in the northeastern U.S. in the summer of 2010.
The Americans is co-produced by Fox Television Studios and FX Productions.  The series is created by Joe Weisberg, and is executive-produced by Weisberg, Graham Yost, and Joel Fields (“Rizzoli & Isles”), along with Darryl Frank and Justin Falvey of DreamWorks Television.  Gavin O’Conner (“Warrior”) directed the pilot.
The Americans is distributed by 20th Century Fox Television Distribution.