Women's Champions League Final 2013 report: Wolfsburg 1-0 Lyon

Wolfsburg's women lift the Champions League trophy. Photo: PA

Wolfsburg won the Women's Champions League for the first time in their history, denying favourites Lyon a third successive continental crown at Stamford Bridge.

Having won the Frauen Bundesliga and German Cup in the past fortnight, die Wolfinnen tonight completed a historic treble - an incredible feat considering they had never won a major trophy before this year.

Wolfsburg coach Ralf Kellermann admitted the Champions League debutants were underdogs in the build-up and Lyon's class showed in the first half.

Les Fenottes, appearing in their fourth consecutive final, continued to impress in the second period and should have been awarded a penalty when Ivonne Hartmann handled in the box.

However, a handball at the other end allowed Martina Muller to strike home as Wolfsburg, Arsenal's conquerors at the semi-final juncture, held on for a famous victory in west London.

The German side, cheered on by a number of Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund fans in town for the men's finale, got off to the brighter start at Stamford Bridge and came close inside four minutes.

Having just been thwarted when attempting to get a shot away, captain Nadine Kessler reacted fantastically to fire an overhead kick just wide.

Die Wolfinnen dominated the opening exchanges, although Lena Goessling was fortunate not to direct a Camille Abily effort into her own net.

Amandine Henry came close with a thunderous header from the resulting corner as les Fenottes soon grew in confidence.

Megan Rapinoe and Lotta Schelin were looking Lyon's most dangerous players and would have combined for the opener was it not for Hartmann preventing the latter prodding into an empty net.

Henry and Louisa Necib both tested Wolfsburg goalkeeper Alisa Vetterlein from distance as the champions pushed for an opener reigning, before Abily scooped over from close range.

Vetterlein was again called into action in the 32nd minute, stopping a Schelin drive and then somehow denying Abily turning home the rebound.

Wolfsburg's best chances were coming on the counter attack and Muller came close to breaking the deadlock as half-time approached, sending a half-volley inches wide.

Lyon continued to dominate when play resumed for the second half and should have had a penalty when Hartmann handled a flick goalwards by Abily.

Referee Teodora Albon waved away those appeals and the France international was frustrated again soon after, with Vetterlein smartly stopping a stinging strike at the near post.

Elodie Thomis was next to be denied by the Wolfsburg goalkeeper and Lyon were made to pay for the futility in front of goal in the 73rd minute.

Laura Georges handled in the box and Wolfsburg were awarded a spot-kick in front of the Matthew Harding Stand, which Muller lashed home down the middle.

Luisa Wensing stopped substitute Eugenie Le Sommer levelling immediately, before another replacement, Lara Dickenmann, saw a strike saved as Lyon desperately pressed for an equaliser.

Wolfsburg's Lina Magull and Lyon midfielder Necib both came close in stoppage time but there was to be no more goals, with the German side holding out win their first ever European title.

Martina Muller celebrates her winning goal. Credit: PA