Nicolas Anelka has been charged by the FA for his "quenelle" gesture celebration

Anelka used the controversial 'quenelle' gesture to celebrate his goal. Photo: PA

Nicolas Anelka has been charged by the Football Association over his controversial 'quenelle' goal celebration.

West Brom's French striker is facing a minimum five-match ban under new FA rules after the gesture, which some say is an inverted Nazi salute and has anti-Semitic connotations.

Anelka has been charged with making a improper gesture and that it was an aggravated breach, in that it included "a reference to ethnic origin and/or race and/or religion or belief."

9-y012ga_normal

West Bromwich Albion's Nicolas Anelka has been charged following an incident in their game with West Ham Utd: http://t.co/wju3hdM8oc

Img-20120801-00317_normal

Anelka charged with racially aggravated misconduct for quenelle gesture by FA.

Bd3d00a0e0c9dbcfea6c59cfa77e49e5_normal

24 days later, Anelka charged by FA re that abusive/indecent/offensive goal celebration. About time. Min 5-game ban expected if found guilty

Anelka, who has denied the goal celebration was intended to be anti-Semitic, made the quenelle salute after scoring in the 3-3 draw against West Ham on December 28.

The FA said in a statement: "The FA has charged the West Bromwich Albion player Nicolas Anelka following an incident that occurred during the West Ham United versus West Bromwich Albion fixture at the Boleyn Ground on 28 December 2013.

"It is alleged that, in the 40th minute of the fixture, Anelka made a gesture which was abusive and/or indecent and/or insulting and/or improper, contrary to FA Rule E3[1].

"It is further alleged that this is an aggravated breach, as defined in FA Rule E3[2], in that it included a reference to ethnic origin and/or race and/or religion or belief."

Anelka has until 6pm on Thursday to respond to the charge.