Capital One Cup first round draw: MK Dons to host AFC Wimbledon

AFC Wimbledon fans
The only meeting between the two sides ended with a 2-1 win for MK Dons. Photo: PA

The draw for the first round of next season's Capital One Cup has been made. It has pitted AFC Wimbledon against their former incarnation MK Dons for only the second time since the breakaway club was launched.

Elsewhere newly-promoted Cambridge have been drawn to face 2011 winners Birmingham. Richard Money's side, who won promotion to Sky Bet League Two with a Conference play-off final victory over Gateshead, will travel to St Andrew's.

Conference champions Luton will take on League One side Swindon, winners of the League Cup back in 1969, at Kenilworth Road. Luton also have a strong pedigree in the League Cup, having won the competition in 1988 and finishing as runners-up the year after.

Cardiff, who were relegated from the Barclays Premier League at the end of last season, have been drawn away to Coventry.

Derby, beaten Championship play-off finalists, travel to Carlisle in round one. The Cumbrians were relegated to League Two at the end of last season.

Four-time League Cup winners Nottingham Forest will be away to Tranmere while Middlesbrough, the 2004 cup winners, are away to 1990 runners-up Oldham.

Runaway League One champions Wolves - winners in 1974 and 1980 - will face Northampton at Molineux.

Fulham and Norwich, relegated along with Cardiff, both receive a bye and will start in the second round.

Elsewhere, York and Doncaster are put together in a Yorkshire derby, while Championship new boys Rotherham take on Fleetwood.

There are two tasty Lancashire derbies too, with Bolton meeting Bury and Rochdale taking on Preston.

The full draw is as follows:

Oldham v Middlesbrough

Shrewsbury v Blackpool

Sheffield Wednesday v Notts County

Tranmere v Nottingham Forest

Leeds v Accrington

Bolton v Bury

Rochdale v Preston

Rotherham v Fleetwood

Carlisle v Derby

Port Vale v Hartlepool

Morecambe v Bradford

Barnsley v Crewe

Chesterfield v Huddersfield

Blackburn v Scunthorpe

Burton Albion v Wigan Athletic

York v Doncaster

Sheffield United v Mansfield

Reading v Newport

Bristol City v Oxford

Brighton v Cheltenham

Coventry v Cardiff

Luton v Swindon

Dagenham & Redbridge v Brentford

Charlton v Colchester

Crawley v Ipswich

Wolves v Northampton

Yeovil v Gillingham

MK Dons v AFC Wimbledon

Exeter v Bournemouth

Stevenage v Watford

Plymouth v Leyton Orient

Birmingham v Cambridge

Portsmouth v Peterborough

Millwall v Wycombe

Southend v Walsall

The ties will be played the week beginning 11th August.