Why Hazard's goal shouldn't have stood

Eden Hazard scored a controversial goal in Chelsea's 4-1 defeat of Cardiff at Stamford Bridge on Saturday.

The Belgium forward netted after Samuel Eto'o had dispossessed Cardiff goalkeeper David Marshall while he was bouncing the ball.

Referee Anthony Taylor should have disallowed the goal, Chelsea's equaliser, according to FIFA law 12, which reads: "The goalkeeper is considered to be in possession of the ball: while in the act of bouncing it on the ground or tossing it into the air."

Advertisement