Capacity Grid for BTCC in 2021

The British Touring Car Championship will feature a capacity grid of 29 cars this season, with all the available licences being allocated to teams before this morning's entry deadline.

Teams must hold a TBL (TOCA BTCC Licence) for each car entered – there are 29 TBLs held by teams, with three retained by TOCA. In keeping with its previously stated policy of wishing to gradually reduce the size of the BTCC grid, TOCA has again chosen not to allocate any of its TBLs to either existing teams or new entrants.

Reigning teams' champions West Surrey Racing return to a three-car entry having only two cars last season following the withdrawl of Andrew Jordan.

Meanwhile Speedworks, which runs the factory-backed Toyota Gazoo Racing team doubles its effort with a second entry. They'll have an all-new driver line up, following the announcement last month that Tom Ingram was leaving the team.

Four TBLs are held by Motorbase Performance, which will also be running the Mark Blundell Motorsport cars, and there's full return for Power Maxed Racing which only ran guest entries in 2020's COVID-affected season.

However there's no entry for Team Parker Racing. The Leicestershire-based team had taken its first podium finish in 2020 with Stephen Jelley, but will now concentrate on sports cars.

BTCC Chief Executive Alan Gow said “Although we are all going through this most incredibly gruelling period, it’s enormous testament to the strength and popularity of the BTCC that we have a full entry.

"Even more remarkable is the fact that a third of the grid will be new-build cars that have been constructed in the off-season. All of which means that we have yet another fabulous, and even more unpredictable, season in store.”

Those with new cars include the Trade Price Cars racing team, which switches to Hyundai following a tie-up with ExcelR8, Ciceley Motorsport, which will run a pair of BMWs, and Team HARD which brings the Cupra brand to the BTCC for the first time.

Full entry list

  • BMR Racing (1)

  • Boardley Motorsport(2)

  • BTC Racing (3)

  • Ciceley Motorsport (2)

  • Excelr8 Motorsport (2)

  • Aiden Moffat Racing  (1)

  • Motorbase Performance (4)

  • Power Maxed Racing (2)

  • Speedworks Motorsport (2)

  • Team Dynamics (2)

  • Team HARD (3)

  • Trade Price Cars Racing (2)

  • West Surrey Racing (3)