Ingram and Hill set fastest times in pre-season testing

Toyota Gazoo Racing's Tom Ingram topped the times during the only official Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship pre-season test at Silverstone today.

The Toyota Corolla of Ingram went fastest during the quicker afternoon session with a 1:06.171s lap time, but was closely followed by morning pace-setter Jake Hill in the MB Motorsport Honda Civic.

Hill had already impressed during a late morning run on fresh Goodyear tyres, and the young Kent star proved his pace again later in the day – falling short of Ingram’s benchmark by just 0.051s.

With the BTCC using the Silverstone International Circuit for the very first time, it was the Halfords Yuasa Racing Honda of Dan Cammish that claimed third once the chequered flag had fallen.

The two new machines in this year’s BTCC produced hugely encouraging performances with Rory Butcher – in the latest generation Motorbase Performance Ford Focus – and Senna Proctor – running the EXCELR8 Motorsport Hyundai i30 – coming home fourth and sixth respectively.

Wedged in-between the BTCC’s two latest cars on the timesheets was the #1 BMW of reigning champion Colin Turkington, with the 3 Series sporting its striking new look stealth colours for the first time.

Former champions Andrew Jordan (Team BMW) and Matt Neal (Halfords Yuasa Racing) were next in the order, whilst Ash Sutton (Laser Tools Racing) and Chris Smiley (EXCELR8 Motorsport) completed the top ten.

Sutton was making his competitive debut in the Infiniti Q50, whilst Smiley confirmed the potential of the all-new BTCC Hyundai i30 Fastback N Performance as both cars set lap times inside the top ten positions.

Earlier in the day Series Organiser, TOCA, announced it would be postponing the first three BTCC events of the season due to the government’s updated coronavirus directives.

Every attempt will be made to reschedule the early season events at Donington Park, Brands Hatch and Silverstone, although confirmation of this will be provided once further clarity regarding the eventual resumption of major sporting events is known.

1 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK with Ginsters 1:06.171s2 Jake HILL (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +0.051s3 Dan CAMMISH (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.319s4 Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Motorbase Performance +0.441s5 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +0.514s6 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Excelr8 Motorsport +0.609s7 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) Team BMW +0.656s8 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.754s9 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.797s10 Chris SMILEY (GBR) Excelr8 Motorsport +0.826s11 James GORNALL (GBR) GKR +0.856s12 Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Team BMW +0.860s13 Michael CREES (GBR) Clever Baggers with BTC Racing +0.890s14 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) Motorbase Performance +0.895s15 Bobby THOMPSON (GBR) GKR +0.909s16 Jason PLATO (GBR) Power Maxed Car Care Racing +0.935s17 Tom CHILTON (GBR) BTC Racing +1.002s18 Sam OSBORNE (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +1.089s19 Jack GOFF (GBR) RCIB Insurance with Fox Transport +1.094s20 Josh WEBSTER (GBR) Team Parker Racing +1.102s21 Carl BOARDLEY (GBR) HUB Financial Solutions with Team HARD. +1.14722 Daniel ROWBOTTOM (GBR) Carlube TripleR Racing Cataclean Mac Tools +1.269s23 Josh COOK (GBR) BTC Racing +1.294s24 Mat JACKSON (GBR) Power Maxed Car Care Racing +1.395s25 Nicolas HAMILTON (GBR) ROKiT Racing with Team HARD. +1.418s26 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Carlube TripleR Racing Cataclean Mac Tools +1.473s27 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +1.582s28 Howard FULLER (GBR) RCIB Insurance with Fox Transport +1.586s29 Andy NEATE (GBR) Motorbase Performance +2.654s