Weekdays | 6am-9am

Boris Johnson announces three-tier lockdown system - All the details

Boris Johnson has introduced a new three-tier lockdown system that will come into effect across different regions in England.

As the number of positive cases continues to rise, the Prime Minister addressed the Commons where he outlined the latest measures that were being put in place. Ruling out another national lockdown and the idea of relaxing the restrictions completely, Mr Johnson declared that "we must act to save lives."

The three tier system goes from the medium alert level to very high alert level.

The medium alert level covers most of the country and sticks to the current national measures including the rule of six and the 10pm hospitality curfew. The high alert level reflects the interventions in many local areas at the moment. In these places mixing between households indoors will be banned and the rule of six will apply to outdoor settings and private gardens.

The very high alert level will apply where transmission is rising rapidly. The restrictions will include a ban on social mixing indoors and in private outdoor spaces and pubs and bars will be closed.

However, Mr Johnson said that "retail, schools and universities will remain open.”

The area's tier designation depends on what the infection rate is there. People will be able to use a postcode checker on the government's website or on the NHS Covid app and see which local alert level applies in each area.

Adressing the Commons, Mr Johnson said: "The weeks and months ahead will continue to be difficult and will test the mettle of this country. I have no doubt at all that together we will succeed."

What is the three-tier system?

Tier one: Medium alert level

Tier one will consist of the rule of six and a 10pm curfew for pubs and restaurants.

Which areas are in Tier one?

This is in place for everywhere in England that hasn't been placed in Tier Two or Tier Three.

Tier two: High alert level

Tier two involves tighter restrictions including the prevention of all social mixing between households indoors. However, the rule of six will apply in public outdoor spaces. Hospitality venues will be able to remain open.

Which areas are in Tier two?

Nottinghamshire, Birmingham, Greater Manchester, Warrington, Cheshire and Leicester have been placed in the second category.

Tier three: Very high alert level

Tier three would see pubs, bars, gyms close and there would be a ban on social mixing indoors and in private gardens. There will also be guidance for people to avoid all but essential travel in and out of areas in the 'very high' alert level.

Which areas are in tier three?

The Liverpool city region will be put into a tier three lockdown from Wednesday 14 October. This means that gyms, leisure centres, betting shops and casinos will be forced to close.

Pubs and bars will be closed unless they operate as restaurants.

Weekdays | 6am-9am