Weekdays | 6am-9am

Matt Hancock confirms new tier restrictions for large parts of the country from tomorrow

Matt Hancock confirmed new tier restrictions for large parts of the country with much of the north east, Greater Manchester and the Midlands being plunged into Tier 4 from tomorrow.

Liverpool and much of Yorkshire, that had been in Tier 2 through Christmas, will now move into Tier 3.

The Isles of Scilly is the only region to be in Tier 1 following Mr Hancock's announcement.

It means three quarters of the country will be under the toughest Tier 4 restrictions, Mr Hancock said.

See the full list areas being moved into new tier restrictions below.

Mr Hancock said the approval of the Oxford/AstraZeneca Covid-19 vaccine is a 'victory for all'.

More to follow...

Tier 4

  • Leicester City

  • Leicestershire

  • Lincolnshire

  • Northamptonshire

  • Derby and Derbyshire

  • Nottingham and Nottinghamshire

  • Birmingham and Black Country

  • Coventry

  • Solihull

  • Warwickshire

  • Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent

  • Lancashire

  • Cheshire and Warrington

  • Cumbria

  • Greater Manchester

  • Tees Valley

  • North East

  • Gloucestershire

  • Somerset council

  • Swindon

  • Bournemouth

  • Isle of Wight

  • New Forest

Tier 3

  • Rutland

  • Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin

  • Worcestershire (Bromsgrove, Malvern Hills, Redditch, Worcester, Wychavon, Wyre Forest)

  • Herefordshire

  • Liverpool City Region (Halton, Knowsley, Liverpool, Sefton, Wirral, St Helens)

  • York & North Yorkshire (Scarborough, Hambleton, Richmondshire, Selby, Craven, Ryedale, Harrogate, City of York)

  • Bath and North East Somerset

  • Devon, Plymouth, Torbay (East Devon, Exeter, Mid Devon, North Devon, South Hams, Teignbridge, Torridge, West Devon, Plymouth, Torbay)

  • Cornwall

  • Dorset

  • Wiltshire

Weekdays | 6am-9am