Logo of Good Morning Britain
itv |

Weekdays | 6am-9am

The quarantine-free countries you can travel to as the full list is revealed

The government has released a list of countries that won't require people to quarantine for 14 days when they arrive back in the UK.

Countries including Germany, Italy and Turkey have all been added to the list. However, Portugal has not.

Travellers entering the UK from Belgium, the Bahamas and Andorra will now also face a 14-day quarantine when they arrive.

Speaking to Good Morning Britain, the President of Tourism Portugal Luis Araujo said: "It was a surprise [not to be included] because Portugal's response was and is an example in terms of fighting Covid-19."

"It was a disappointment. There is a long relationship between Portugal and the UK in terms of tourism. It has had a big economic effect. 40% of revenue is from the UK during the summer so it's not a positive situation for the economy," he added.

What countries are included?


  • Austria

  • Croatia

  • Cyrus

  • Czech Republic

  • Denmark

  • Estonia

  • Finland

  • France

  • Germany

  • Gibraltar

  • Greece

  • Hungary

  • Iceland

  • Ireland

  • Italy

  • Latvia

  • Liechtenstein

  • Lithuania

  • Malta

  • Monaco

  • The Netherlands

  • Norway

  • Poland

  • San Marino

  • Serbia

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

  • Switzerland

  • Turkey

Other countries include:

  • Antigua & Barbuda

  • Barbados

  • Bermuda

  • Canada

  • Cayman Islands

  • Dominica

  • Grenada

  • Jamaica

  • Martinique

  • South Georgia & the South Sandwich Islands

  • St Kitts and Nevis

  • St Lucia

  • St Pierre and Miquelon

  • St Vincent and The Grenadines

  • Trinidad and Tobago

  • Turks and Caicos Islands

  • Australia

  • Brunei

  • French Polynesia

  • Hong Kong

  • Japan

  • Macao

  • Malaysia

  • New Zealand

  • Taiwan

  • Thailand

  • Singapore

  • South Korea

  • Vietnam

  • Wallis and Futuna

Which countries aren't included?

Countries including China, US, Sweden and Portugal are not on the list meaning people returning from those locations will need to quarantine for 14 days.

The airport process

Good Morning Britain's Jonathan Swain demonstrates the process people will have to go through when they arrive at the airport.

"When you come into the airport from now on, only passengers are allowed inside the main doors and when you come in, you have to put on a face mask. This is compulsory now for everybody. If you've forgotten a face mask, you can use them or buy them from the vending machines that they've set up around the airport.

"At the check-in desk, you are encouraged to drop off all of your bags. Try not to take any hand baggage on board the plane because obviously that is going to cause more queues, more possible contamination as well.

"When you come through to the security area, you'll be encouraged to take everything out because what they don't want to do is end up having to pat everybody down because obviously there's a bigger risk of contamination there as well."

Logo of Good Morning Britain
itv |

Weekdays | 6am-9am