1. ITV Report

Rooney's overhead kick voted best Premier League goal

Wayne Rooney's overhead kick in the Manchester derby was voted the greatest in Premier League history. Photo: PA

Wayne Rooney's spectacular overhead kick in the 2011 Manchester derby has been voted the greatest goal in the 20 seasons of the Premier League.

The England striker acrobatically volleyed Nani's 77th-minute cross which helped Manchester United beat their bitter rivals and put them on course for their 19th league title.

Hundreds of thousands of people across the globe voted in the poll, with Rooney taking 26% of the vote.

Arsenal striker Dennis Bergkamp's sublime turn and finish against Newcastle in 2002 came second receiving 19% of the vote.

Another Gunners striker, Thierry Henry, completed the top three with a stunning volley against Manchester United in 2000 receiving 15%.

Thierry Henry's volley against Manchester United in 2000 came third. Credit: REUTERS/Eddie Keogh

The award is the first in a series to commemorate 20 seasons of the Premier League.

On winning the award, Rooney said:

I grew up watching the Premier League so to be voted the best goal in the history of the Premier League is a great feeling.

There's so many good goals in that shortlist, goals that I watched in my living room as a kid: Alan Shearer's goal, Paolo Di Canio's, Tony Yeboah's, David Beckham's.

To be competing with them and winning is a great honour for me and something I'm very proud of. I'd like to say a big thank you to all the fans that voted for me.

– Wayne Rooney

Over 4.2 million votes were cast by 300,000 supporters to decide the best goal, best save, best goal celebration and a fans' fantasy team.

There are also six award categories being decided by a panel - best player, manager, team, season, most memorable quotes and a panel fantasy team.

Sir Alex Ferguson will be the overwhelming favourite to win the best manager category. Credit: Reuters

The remaining award winners will be named over the next fortnight culminating in an event on May 15 where the best player and manager of the 20 seasons will be revealed.