1. ITV Report

England manager Roy Hodgson announces 23-man World Cup squad

The 23 men picked to represent England at the 2014 World Cup. Photo: The FA

England manager Roy Hodgson has announced a youthful 23-man squad for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil as he backed the Premier League's emerging talent to perform on the world's biggest stage.

Nine of the squad have earned less than 10 caps for their country, with three players gaining a place on the plane on the back of a single appearance for the national team.

The Three Lions begin their campaign against Italy in Manaus on June 14 with matches against Uruguay on June 19 and Costa Rica on June 24 to follow.

Here is the full 23-man squad, followed by the seven placed placed on standby:


Joe Hart (Manchester City)

Joe Hart has won 39 caps for the national team since his debut in 2008. Credit: PA Wire

Fraser Forster (Celtic)

Celtic keeper Fraser Forster has made the squad after a solitary appearance against Chile in November last year. Credit: PA Wire

Ben Foster (West Brom)

Ben Foster has won six caps for England, dating back to his debut against Spain in 2007. Credit: PA Wire


Gary Cahill (Chelsea)

Chelsea centre-back Gary Cahill, who has played 22 times for his country, was named in the recent Premier League team of the season. Credit: PA Wire

Phil Jagielka (Everton)

Phil Jagielka, who has won 24 caps, was a regular through England's qualification campaign, featuring in seven of the 10 games. Credit: PA Wire

Leighton Baines

Everton defender Leighton Baines has emerged as the national team's first choice left-back. He has earned 22 caps since his debut in 2010. Credit: PA Wire

Glen Johnson (Liverpool)

Right back Glen Johnson, who made his national team debut in 2003, heads to Brazil look to add to a half century of caps for his country. Credit: PA Wire

Luke Shaw (Southampton)

Eighteen-year-old Luke Shaw has made the squad ahead of Ashley Cole after one substitute appearance for the national team. Credit: PA Wire

Phil Jones (Manchester United)

Phil Jones was cleared for selection after overcoming a shoulder injury he picked up in United's recent 3-1 victory over Hull City. Credit: PA Wire

Chris Smalling (Manchester United)

Versatile defender Chis Smalling, 24, has made 10 appearances for England. Credit: PA Wire


Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)

England's captain Steven Gerrard is the most experienced player in the squad with 109 caps. He has scored 21 goals for his country. Credit: PA Wire

Frank Lampard (Chelsea)

Frank Lampard, who made his international debut in 1999, has scored 29 goals in his 103 appearances in an England shirt. Credit: PA Wire

Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)

Liverpool's Jordan Henderson has impressed this season and heads to Brazil expecting to add to his eight caps for the Three Lions. Credit: PA Wire

James Milner (Manchester City)

Versatile midfielder James Milner has made 45 appearances since his England debut in 2009, but has only scored once. Credit: Tony Marshall/EMPICS Sport

Ross Barkley (Everton)

Everton's Ross Barkley has earned three caps after emerging as a major talent in the Premier League. Credit: PA Wire

Adam Lallana (Southampton)

Saints star Adam Lallana is another player to have impressed in his three England appearances after a stand-out Premier League season. Credit: PA Wire

Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)

Jack Wilshere, capped 15 times for his country, has returned from injury just in time for selection. Credit: PA Wire

Raheem Sterling (Liverpool)

One-cap Raheem Sterling, 19, is one of the youngest players in the squad but earned his place after a breakthrough season for Liverpool. Credit: PA Wire

Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal)

Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain has scored three goals in his nine England appearances, including a memorable goal against Brazil in the Maracana. Credit: PA Wire


Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

Wayne Rooney is England's talisman with 38 goals in 89 games. He has been sent off twice for his country, including at the 2006 World Cup. Credit: PA Wire

Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool)

Daniel Sturridge, 24, has scored three goals in 10 games for England but has enjoyed a prolific campaign for Liverpool. Credit: PA Wire

Danny Welbeck (Manchester United)

Danny Welbeck has netted eight goals for his country in 21 games. England have only lost twice in the games he has played. Credit: PA Wire

Rickie Lambert (Southampton)

Rickie Lambert has scored twice in his four games for England after taking his prolific lower league record into the Premier League. Credit: PA Wire

The seven players placed on standby for the tournament are:

John Ruddy (Norwich)

John Ruddy is on standby for the three goalkeepers after a disappointing relegation season for the Canaries. Credit: Nick Potts/PA Archive

Jon Flanagan (Liverpool)

A natural right-back, Jon Flanagan has earned a place on the reserve list after impressing for Liverpool at left back. Credit: Tony Marshall/EMPICS Sport

John Stones (Everton)

Like Jon Flanagan, Everton defender John Stones has enjoyed regular appearances for England's youth teams before emerging for Everton. Credit: Joe Giddens/PA Wire

Michael Carrick (Manchester United)

Michael Carrick, 32, has missed out on a place in the 23 man squad despite 31 caps in midfield for England. Credit: Mike Egerton/EMPICS Sport

Tom Cleverley (Manchester United)

Midfielder Tom Cleverley has earned 13 caps for England since debuting in 2012 but misses out after a disappointing season at Old Trafford. Credit: Revierfoto/DPA/Press Association Images

Andy Carroll (West Ham)

Forward Andy Carroll is on standby after leading England's line at the last European Championships in Poland and Ukraine. Credit: Thomas Eisenhuth/DPA/Press Association Images

Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC)

Former Tottenham striker Jermain Defoe has scored 19 goals in his 55 England games but is on standby after heading to the MLS. Credit: Peter Byrne/PA Wire

More on this story