European Union add 13 to visa ban over Ukraine crisis

Ukraine tensions have rises sharply over the last few months. Credit: REUTERS/Valentyn Ogirenko

European Union foreign ministers have added 13 people to their visa ban and asset freeze list over Ukraine's crisis.

But they are not expected to decide whether to impose tough economic measures on Russia before Ukraine's May 25 elections, officials said.

Read more: PM to be questioned on a response to Ukraine crisis

As listed on the website of the EU's Official Journal, the new individuals sanctioned are:

  • Vyacheslav Volodin, first deputy chief of staff of the presidential administration of Russia.

  • Colonel General Vladimir Shamanov, commander of the Russian airborne troops.

  • Vladimir Pligin, chairman of the constitutional law committee of the Russian Duma.

  • Pyotr Jarosh, acting head of the Federal Migration Service Office for Crimea.

  • Oleg Kozyura, acting head of the Federal Migration Service Office for the city of Sevastopol.

  • Vlacheslav Ponomariov, self-declared mayor of the city of Slaviansk.

  • Igor Bezler, a leader of the self-proclaimed militia of Horlivka.

  • Igor Kakidzyanov, a leader of the armed forces of the self-proclaimed Donetsk People's Republic.

  • Oleg Tsariov, member of the Rada.

  • Roman Lyagin, head of the Donetsk People's Republic's Central Electoral Commission.

  • Aleksandr Malykhin, head of the self-proclaimed Lugansk People's Republic's Central Electoral Commission.

  • Natalia Poklonskaya, prosecutor in Crimea.

  • Igor Shevchenko, acting prosecutor of Sevastopol.

A total of 61 people are now on the EU's sanctions list due to Ukraine.

More: Russia: EU should respect Ukraine referendum results