Prime Minister David Cameron has reshuffled his pack of secretaries and ministers as he bids to win an outright majority at next year's election and end the era of Coalition government.

The highest profile change has seen former defence secretary Philip Hammond replace William Hague as Foreign Secretary and Michael Gove switched from Education Secretary to Chief Whip.

Gove's replacement is Nicky Morgan, one of a number of women handed significant roles following criticism of Mr Cameron's male-led administration.

Here's a guide to the big movers and new faces in the Cabinet, followed by a complete list of the reshuffle:

Nicky Morgan - Education Secretary (replacing Michael Gove)

The promotion to Education Secretary completes a rapid rise through the ranks for the 41-year-old corporate lawyer, who was made a ministerial aide within months of entering Parliament in 2010, a whip in 2012 and a junior Treasury minister last October.

Educated at Surbiton High School and St Hugh's College, Oxford, she notably voted against same-sex marriage on the basis of her Christianity.

Morgan has added responsibility for equalities to her previous brief as minister for women, though due to her opposition will not be given responsibility for implementing gay marriage legislation.

Liz Truss - Environment Secretary (replaces Owen Patterson)

Environment Secretary Liz Truss. Credit: Stefan Rousseau/PA Wire

Thirty-eight-year-old Liz Truss, another female MP from the 2010 intake, takes on the role of environment secretary after two years in the Department for Education.

As schools minister, Truss was responsible for plans to overhaul pre-school childcare - though those efforts were later blocked by Nick Clegg.

Bought up in Leeds and educated at comprehensive Roundhay School, she became president of Oxford University Liberal Democrats, before later switching to the Conservatives.

Michael Fallon - Defence Secretary (replacing Philip Hammond)

Defence Secretary Michael Fallon. Credit: Stefan Rousseau/PA Wire

Tory veteran Michael Fallon's promotion to the Cabinet marks the latest stage of a ministerial career which began under Margaret Thatcher.

Before becoming Defence Secretary the 62-year-old was juggling three jobs, including posts in the Liberal Democrat-controlled Business and Energy departments.

Mr Fallon was educated at Epsom College and the University of St Andrews and after losing his seat in 1992 served as a director of three companies founded by Dragons Den star Duncan Bannatyne before returning to Parliament in 1997.

Jeremy Wright - Attorney General (replacing Dominic Grieve QC)

Attorney General Jeremy Wright. Credit: Soody Ahmad/Press Association Images

Wright's promotion to Attorney General is the most significant role to date for the barrister since his arrival in Parliament in 2005.

The MP for Kenilworth and Southam - who is unopposed to the HS2 rail link's passage through his constituency - made the transfer from opposition whip to government whip after the 2010 election and was made prison minister two years ago.

The 41-year-old father-of-two studied at the Inns of Court School of Law in London before specialising in criminal law after becoming a barrister.

Ester McVey - Minister for Employment and Disabilities (retains role but promoted to Cabinet)

Minister for Employment and Disabilities Esther McVey Credit: Stefan Rousseau/PA Wire

Esther McVey, a law graduate and former GMTV presenter, was elected as MP in 2010 after wresting the Wirral West seat from Labour in her native Merseyside.

Her background has made McVey a regular favourite for media performances on behalf of the party. And being young, female and northern, she also represents much of what David Cameron has been accused of lacking in his Cabinet since the general election.The Liverpool-born 46-year-old started her media career at the BBC in 1991, but quit TV in 2000 to launch a business finding office space and providing training for start-ups.

Stephen Crabb - Welsh Secretary (replaces David Jones)

Welsh Secretary Stephen Crabb. Credit: Ben Birchall/PA Archive

Stephen Crabb's promotion was a direct step up from his previous role as deputy to David Jones, who revealed his departure yesterday.

Scottish-born and council house-raised, Mr Crabb, the MP for Preseli Pembrokeshire, is a former marketing consultant.

The new Welsh Secretary also has the questionable honour of becoming the first Conservative Cabinet minister with a beard for more than 100 years.

The full list of new roles announced in the reshuffle:

  • Philip Hammond - Foreign Secretary

  • William Hague - Leader of the House of Commons

  • Michael Gove - Chief Whip

  • Nicky Morgan - Education Secretary

  • Liz Truss - Environment Secretary

  • Michael Fallon - Defence Secretary

  • Jeremy Wright - Attorney General

  • Stephen Crabb - Welsh Secretary

  • Baroness Stowell - Leader of the House of Lords

  • Greg Clark - Science and Universities minister

  • Nick Boles - Minister of State at the Department of Business, Innovation and Skills

  • Matthew Hancock - Minister of State for Energy, Business and Portsmouth

  • Mike Penning - Ministerial roles in the Home Office and Ministry of Justice

  • Anna Soubry - Minister of State in the Ministry of Justice

  • John Hayes - Minister of State in the Department of Transport

  • Mark Harper - Minister of State in the Department for Work and Pensions

  • David Gauke - Financial Secretary

  • Priti Patel - Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury

  • Claire Perry - Junior Transport Minister

  • Amber Rudd - Junior Minister at the Department for Energy and Climate Change

  • Penny Mordaunt - Junior Minister in the Department for Communities and Local Government

  • Ed Vaizey - Minister of State in the Department for Culture, Media and Sport and Department of Business, Innovation and Skills with responsibility for digital industries

  • Nick Gibb, Minister of State in the Department for Education

  • Robert Buckland, Solicitor General

  • Desmond Swayne, Minister of State at the Department for International Development

  • Julian Brazier, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Ministry of Defence

  • George Freeman, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department of Business, Innovation and Skills

  • Andrew Murrison, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Northern Ireland Office

  • Brooks Newmark, Minister of State at the Department for Communities and Local Government

  • Alun Cairns, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Wales Office and Government Whip

  • Mel Stride, Therese Coffey, Ben Wallace and Damian Hinds, Assistant Government Whips