EastEnders cast dedicate prize to the 'Weatherfield One' at National Television Awards

The cast of EastEnders dedicated their plaudit at the National Television Awards last night to the late actress Anne Kirkbride.

Despite beating ITV rival Coronation Street to the best soap prize, actor Adam Woodyatt said: "If you don't mind, we'd like to accept this for The Weatherfield One."

He was referring to the celebrated Corrie story line in which Kirkbride's character Deirdre was wrongly jailed.

He said: "I'd like to say a big thank you to Coronation Street because without you there would be no EastEnders ... without your enduring characters like Ken and Deirdre."

Corrie cast members and plenty of the audience were moved to tears when actor William Roache paid tribute to his friend and on-screen wife.

Standing in front of a giant picture of Anne Kirkbride, he said: "I love you, Anne. Thank you."

Guests take part in a standing ovation as William Roache pays tribute to Anne Kirkbride Credit: Ian West/PA Wire/Press Association Images

Ant and Dec took the best entertainment presenter prize for the 14th successive year, while their series I'm A Celebrity ... Get Me Out Of Here! landed the best entertainment programme trophy.

Speaking afterwards, Ant and Dec said they had expected their unbroken run of success to come to an end at the latest NTAs.

Actress Sheridan Smith landed the best drama performance prize, but failed to make it to the ceremony on time after her taxi got stuck in traffic, causing her to turn up late with an apology.

She saw off figures such as Dame Maggie Smith, Sarah Lancashire and Benedict Cumberbatch to claim the award.

Sheridan Smith (centre) during the 2015 National Television Awards Credit: Ian West/PA Wire/Press Association Images

In a shock result, despite trailing in the ratings last year, The X Factor beat Strictly Come Dancing to the best talent show prize.

Viewers of the ceremony were able to see Strictly host Claudia Winkleman mouth the word "what?" when her BBC1 show was beaten to the prize.

Judge Simon Cowell refused to drop any hints about the upcoming series of the talent show.

David Walliams was awarded the prize for best TV talent show judge, but was unable to attend so left his Britain's Got Talent colleague Cowell to pick up the prize.

Reading out a message from the winner, Cowell said: "I don't deserve this award. I have the pleasure of sitting next to one of the most good-looking powerful men in the music business - I would like to give this award to Simon Cowell."

Here is the full list of winners for the 2015 National Television Awards:

  • Factual - Gogglebox

  • Multichannel - Celebrity Juice

  • Newcomer - Maddy Hill

  • Talent Show - The X Factor

  • Skills Challenge Show - The Great British Bake Off

  • Serial Drama - EastEnders

  • TV Judge - David Walliams

  • Serial Drama Performance - Danny Dyer

  • Chat Show Host - Alan Carr

  • Comedy - Mrs Brown's Boys

  • Daytime - This Morning

  • Drama Performance - Sheridan Smith

  • Drama - Downton Abbey

  • Entertainment Presenter - Ant & Dec

  • Entertainment Programme - I'm A Celebrity ... Get Me Out Of Here!

  • Landmark Award - Comic Relief

  • Special Recognition - David Tennant