How the cabinet looks after the post-election reshuffle

Prime Minister David Cameron is continuing to put together his new cabinet Credit: PA Wire

Prime Minister David Cameron is completing his cabinet reshuffle after the Conservatives won the general election with a majority last week.

The latest appointments include Amber Rudd as Energy and Climate Secretary and Priti Patel as Employment Minister.

Here is what the rest of the cabinet looks like so far:

George Osborne, First Secretary of State and Chancellor of the Exchequer

George Osborne Credit: PA Wire

Osborne has been reappointed as Chancellor and also named First Secretary of State - effectively equivalent to deputy prime minister. He will control the spending cuts and unspecified savings of £12bn.

Theresa May, Home Secretary

Theresa May Credit: PA Wire

May retains her post as Home Secretary. She is set to revive controversial online data monitoring laws, known as the 'snoopers charter'.

The Communications Data Bill was shelved in 2013 after opposition from Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg.

Now May has said the bill will be one of her "key issues".

Philip Hammond, Foreign Secretary

Philip Hammond Credit: PA Wire

Hammond remains in the post he has held since 2014.

Iain Duncan Smith, Work and Pensions Secretary

Iain Duncan Smith Credit: PA Wire

Duncan Smith remain in charge of the Government's controversial welfare reforms as Work and Pensions Secretary.

Michael Fallon, Defence Secretary

Michael Fallon Credit: PA Wire

Fallon retains his position as Defence Secretary.

Nicky Morgan, Education Minister

Nicky Morgan Credit: PA Wire

Nicky Morgan remains as Education Minister.

Michael Gove, Justice Secretary

Michael Gove Credit: PA Wire

Gove has been named as the justice secretary. His responsibilities will include implementing the Conservative Party's pledge to scrap the Human Rights Act and replace it with a British Bill of Rights.

Chris Grayling, Leader of the House

Chris Grayling Credit: PA Wire

Former Justice Secretary Grayling has been made Leader of the House, replacing William Hague who is no longer an MP.

Grayling will take on responsibility for the Government's constitutional reforms including the further devolution of powers to Scotland and legislation to give English MPs a veto over England-only laws at Westminster.

Baroness Stowell, Leader of the House of Lords and Lord Privy Seal

Baroness Stowell Credit: PA Wire

Baroness Stowell remains as Leader of the House of Lords and takes on the role of Lord Privy Seal.

Amber Rudd, Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change

Amber Rudd Credit: PA Wire

Amber Rudd has been named as the government's new Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change. She will take over from Liberal Democrat Ed Davey, who lost his seat last week.

Sajid Javid, Business Secretary

Sajid Javid Credit: Reuters

Sajid Javid has been appointed as Business Secretary, replacing the Liberal Democrat's Vince Cable who lost his seat.

Mr Javid has been promoted from his previous brief as Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport.

John Whittingdale, Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport

John Whittingdale Credit: Reuters

John Whittingdale has been named as the new Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport.

Last year, Whittingdale said the BBC licence fee was "worse than a poll tax" and must be "tweaked immediately".

In his new role, Mr Whittingdale will oversee BBC charter renewal.

The current charter runs until December 31, 2016.

Patrick McLoughlin, Transport Secretary

Patrick McLoughlin Credit: Reuters

Patrick McLoughlin will stay on as Transport Secretary.

Liz Truss, Secretary of State for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Liz Truss Credit: Reuters

Liz Truss will continue in her role as Secretary of State for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

Greg Clark, Communities and Local Government Secretary

Greg Clark

The former universities minister has replaced Eric Pickles as Communities and Local Government Secretary.

Justine Greening, International Development Secretary

Justine Greening Credit: PA Wire

Justine Greening will remain in her post as International Development Secretary.

Theresa Villiers, Northern Ireland Secretary

Theresa Villiers Credit: PA Wire

Theresa Villiers will remain in her role as Northern Ireland Secretary.

Ms Villiers has said it is time to get on with the implementation of the Stormont House Agreement.

She has pledged to devolve powers over corporation tax from London to Belfast if the deal is adhered to.

Negotiations are due to take place following the elections after Sinn Fein said it would not implement welfare reform.

Jeremy Hunt, Health Secretary

Jeremy Hunt Credit: PA Wire

Jeremy Hunt will remain in his role as Health Secretary.

Hunt, South West Surrey's MP, has been Britain's Health Secretary since September 2012 prior to which he spent more than two years as the Conservative Party's Culture, Olympics, Media and Sport Secretary.

Oliver Letwin, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, in overall charge of Cabinet Office

Oliver Letwin

Oliver Letwin has been promoted to be full member of Cabinet as Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, in overall charge of the Cabinet Office.

Stephen Crabb, Welsh Secretary

Stephen Crabb Credit: PA Wire

Stephen Crabb remains Welsh Secretary.

Greg Hands, Chief Secretary to the Treasury

Greg Hands Credit: PA Wire

Greg Hands MP becomes Chief Secretary to the Treasury and will attend Cabinet.

The Chelsea and Fulham MP replaces Liberal Democrat Danny Alexander in the second most senior job in the Treasury.

David Mundell, Secretary of State for Scotland

David Mundell

The Prime Minister has named David Mundell as the new Secretary of State for Scotland, as his post-election reshuffle continues.


Mark Harper, Chief Whip

Mark Harper Credit:

Mark Harper, MP for the Forest of Dean in Gloucestershire, has been made the government's new Chief Whip, responsible for liaising with backbenchers and maintaining party discipline.

He resigned from his post as immigration minister in February 2014 after he discovered that his cleaner was no longer entitled to work in the UK, but rejoined the government five months later as minister for disabled people.

Boris Johnson

Boris Johnson Credit: Reuters

Mayor of London Boris Johnson will not be made a minister but will attend separate Tory "political cabinet" meetings.

Mr Cameron said Mr Johnson "would devote his attention, as promised" to his final year as Mayor of London.

Matt Hancock, Minister for the Cabinet Office and Paymaster General

Matt Hancock

Matt Hancock moves from the Business Department to become minister for the Cabinet Office and Paymaster General, with responsibility for efficiency and civil service reform.

Priti Patel, Employment Minister

Priti Patel Credit: PA Wire

Priti Patel has been appointed as Employment Minister. She replaces Esther McVey, who lost her seat on Friday.

Robert Halfon, Deputy chairman of the Conservative Party

Robert Halfon Credit: PA Wire

Harlow MP Robert Halfon, who was the Chancellor's parliamentary private secretary (PPS) in the last parliament, has been appointed as the new deputy chairman of the Conservative Party.

The Harlow Tory has been a persistent campaigner on several issues, most notably against hospital car parking charges and increases in fuel duty.

Jo Johnson, Minister of State for Universities and Science

Jo Johnson is the brother of London Mayor Boris Johnson Credit: PA

Jo Johnson has been named as the new Minister of State for Universities and Science at the Department for Business.

Jeremy Wright, Attorney General

Jeremy Wright MP Credit: PA

Jeremy Wright will remain as Attorney General. Mr Wright, the MP for Kenilworth and Southam, was first sworn in as Attorney General in July last year.