Downton Abbey presented with special BAFTA award

Downton's writer and creator Julian Fellowes accepted the award on behalf of cast and crew. Credit: ITV/BAFTA

The cast and crew of ITV drama Downton Abbey have received a special award by BAFTA honouring the series' success in the UK and around the world.

The team behind the drama attended a ceremony in London to receive the award. No stranger to success, the series has won many accolades, including 12 Emmy Awards and three Golden Globes.

Julie Walters CBE presented the BAFTA to the cast on stage. And although it was the cast that went up to collect the award, there was a special mention for the crew from one of the show's stars.

In a red carpet interview with ITV News Michelle Dockery, who plays Lady Mary Crawley, let slip a few details about her character's fate.

Downton fans will have to say goodbye to much-loved characters later this year, as the series comes to a close. The last ever episode will be broadcast on Christmas Day.

Stars of the show have taken to social media this week to say their goodbyes as filming for the sixth and final series comes to an end.

Michelle Dockery posted a photo on Instagram with 4-year-old twins Zac and Oliver Barker who share the part of her on-screen son George.

She described her time on Downton Abbey as "the most glorious 6 years of my life", and thanked "each and every one of you out there for watching."

Star of the show Michelle Dockery pays tribute to Downton 'family'. Credit: Instagram

Among the cast at the ceremony were Maggie Smith, Hugh Bonneville, Jim Carter and Penelope Wilton.

Hugh Bonneville attended the tribute evening with his wife Lulu Williams. Credit: PA

Downton Abbey has never won a BAFTA for best drama series. Speaking to ITV News before the event, writer and creator Julian Fellowes described tonight's tribute as a "huge compliment".

The event was hosted by Jonathan Ross and filmed for a special tribute programme called ‘BAFTA Celebrates Downton Abbey’, which will be broadcast on ITV later this year.