Ukip to announce candidates to replace Nigel Farage as leader

The final list of candidates to replace Nigel Farage as Ukip leader will be announced today.

Party officials met on Tuesday to discuss the eligibility of all candidates, including favourite Steven Woolfe, who missed the application deadline and admitted failing to declare a criminal conviction.

An announcement is expected at midday after final checks by a National Executive Committee-led panel.

Mr Woolfe insisted he is still in the race after overshooting the deadline of noon on Sunday by 17 minutes and has left the door open for a legal challenge if party officials block him from standing.

It has also emerged that Mr Woolfe failed to declare a drink-driving conviction when he stood for a police and crime commissioner post in 2012.

He is standing alongside Huntingdonshire councillor Lisa Duffy and MEPs Bill Etheridge and Jonathan Arnott.

Mr Farage, who announced he was quitting after the Leave victory in June's EU referendum, said Ukip members should vote for the candidate who will best represent the party "on the big media stages" and around the country.