1. ITV Report

Shortlist for BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award announced

Andy Murray could be the first three-time winner of the award. Credit: PA

Andy Murray heads up a 16-strong shortlist for this year's BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award.

The world number one capped off a stunning year in which he clinched his second Wimbledon title, second Olympic gold and first World Tour Finals title.

Thirteen Olympic and Paralympic gold medalists from Rio 2016 are also included in an extended shortlist - up from 12 nominations from both the 2012 and 2015 awards.

The shortlist was drawn up by a panel including media representatives and sports stars including Ryan Giggs and Victoria Pendleton.

The winner will be announced at a glittering ceremony at the Genting Arena, Birmingham, on December 18.

Scroll down for a full list of nominees and for information on how you can vote.

  • Who is on the shortlist?
Nicola Adams - Boxing Credit: PA
Gareth Bale - Football Credit: PA
Alistair Brownlee - Triathlon Credit: PA
Sophie Christiansen - Equestrian Credit: PA
Kadeena Cox - Athletics / Cycling Credit: PA
Mo Farah - Athletics Credit: PA
Laura and Jason Kenny - Cycling Credit: PA
Andy Murray - Tennis Credit: PA
Adam Peaty - Swimming Credit: PA
Kate Richardson-Walsh - Hockey Credit: PA
Nick Skelton - Equestrian Credit: PA
Dame Sarah Storey - Cycling Credit: PA
Jamie Vardy - Football Credit: PA
Max Whitlock - Gymnastics Credit: PA
Danny Willett - Golf Credit: PA
  • How do you vote?

The public can vote for the Sports Personality of the Year by phone or online during the show on December 18.

Voting details, including the phone number, will be announced during the ceremony.

There is no voting via email, Red Button or by text.