Advertisement

  1. ITV Report

Uber's latest update branded 'creepy' by users

Uber's latest update has been branded 'creepy' by users Credit: Reuters

The ride-sharing app Uber has been branded "creepy" after its latest update asks users to share their location even when they are not using the app.

Previously users have been given the option to only share their location when they are using the app, but this option has since disappeared.

Uber say they want to collect location data from the "time a trip is requested until five minutes after the trip ends". This includes when the app isn't open, but running in the background.

According to the notification iPhone users received this is to "improve pickups, drop-offs, customer service and to enhance safety".

The request Uber users receive when using the app. Credit: Uber

But users have taken to social media to express their concerns about the update.

Some have called it "creepy" and "scary", while others have said they don't plan to use the service until the company changes the location sharing options.

Users do have the option to "never" share their location data with the app, but this requires them entering their pick-up location manually.

Sorry, this content isn't available on your device.