Who were the 89 MPs who voted against the government's Brexit timetable?

A total of 461 MPs voted to back Theresa May's plans to trigger the process for quitting the European Union by the end of March 2017 - if the prime minister publishes her Brexit plan first.

However 89 MPs chose to vote against it, including 51 from the Scottish National Party.

The 23 Labour MPs who did not back the move were "named and shamed" on social media by the Tory party for failing to "respect" the June 23 referendum result.

Europhile Tory Ken Clarke was the lone figure in his party to oppose the move.

The former chancellor said Mrs May's promise to reveal her plan was "extremely vague", and called for it to be set out in detail in a White Paper for publication before the invocation of Article 50.

So who were the MPs who voted against triggering the Brexit process by April next year?

A total of 461 MPs voted to back Theresa May's Brexit timetable, but 89 voted against it.


  • Ken Clarke (Rushcliffe)


  • Rushanara Ali (Bethnal Green and Bow)

  • Graham Allen (Nottingham North)

  • Ben Bradshaw (Exeter)

  • Ann Coffey (Stockport)

  • Neil Coyle (Bermondsey and Old Southwark)

  • Stella Creasy (Walthamstow)

  • Geraint Davies (Swansea West)

  • Jim Dowd (Lewisham West and Penge)

  • Louise Ellman (Liverpool, Riverside)

  • Chris Evans (Islwyn)

  • Paul Farrelly (Newcastle-under-Lyme)

  • Mike Gapes (Ilford South)

  • Helen Hayes (Dulwich and West Norwood)

  • Meg Hillier (Hackney South and Shoreditch)

  • Peter Kyle (Hove)

  • David Lammy (Tottenham)

  • Chris Leslie (Nottingham East)

  • Ian Murray (Edinburgh South)

  • Barry Sheerman (Huddersfield)

  • Tulip Siddiq (Hampstead and Kilburn)

  • Angela Smith (Penistone and Stocksbridge)

  • Catherine West (Hornsey and Wood Green)

  • Daniel Zeichner (Cambridge)

Liberal Democrats

  • Alistair Carmichael (Orkney & Shetland)

  • Nick Clegg (Sheffield Hallam)

  • Tim Farron (Westmorland & Lonsdale)

  • Sarah Olney (Richmond Park)

  • Mark Williams (Ceredigion)

Scottish National Party

  • Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh (Ochil & Perthshire South)

  • Hannah Bardell (Livingston)

  • Mhairi Black (Paisley & Renfrewshire South)

  • Ian Blackford (Ross, Skye and Lochaber)

  • Kirsty Blackman (Aberdeen North)

  • Phil Boswell (Coatbridge, Chryston & Bellshill)

  • Deidre Brock (Edinburgh North & Leith)

  • Alan Brown (Kilmarnock & Loudoun)

  • Dr Lisa Cameron (East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow)

  • Douglas Chapman (Dunfermline and Fife West)

  • Joanna Cherry (Edinburgh South West)

  • Ronnie Cowan (Inverclyde)

  • Angela Crawley (Lanark & Hamilton East)

  • Martyn Day (Linlithgow & Falkirk East)

  • Martin Docherty (Dunbartonshire West)

  • Stuart Donaldson (Aberdeenshire West & Kincardine)

  • Margaret Ferrier (Rutherglen & Hamilton West)

  • Stephen Gethins (Fife North East)

  • Patricia Gibson (Ayrshire North & Arran)

  • Patrick Grady (Glasgow North)

  • Peter Grant (Glenrothes)

  • Neil Gray (Airdrie & Shotts)

  • Drew Hendry (Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch & Strathspey)

  • Stewart Hosie (Dundee East), George Kerevan (East Lothian)

  • Calum Kerr (Berwickshire, Roxburgh & Selkirk)

  • Chris Law (Dundee West)

  • Callum McCaig (Aberdeen South)

  • Stuart McDonald (Cumbernauld, Kilsyth & Kirkintilloch East)

  • Anne McLaughlin (Glasgow North East)

  • John McNally (Falkirk)

  • Angus MacNeil (Na h-Eileanan an Iar)

  • Carol Monaghan (Glasgow North West)

  • Dr Paul Monaghan (Caithness, Sutherland & Easter Ross)

  • Roger Mullin (Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath)

  • Gavin Newlands (Paisley & Renfrewshire North)

  • John Nicolson (Dunbartonshire East)

  • Brendan O'Hara (Argyll and Bute)

  • Kirsten Oswald (Renfrewshire East)

  • Steven Paterson (Stirling)

  • Angus Robertson (Moray)

  • Alex Salmond (Gordon)

  • Tommy Sheppard (Edinburgh East)

  • Christopher Stephens (Glasgow South West)

  • Alison Thewliss (Glasgow Central)

  • Owen Thompson (Midlothian)

  • Mike Weir (Angus)

  • Dr Eilidh Whiteford (Banff and Buchan)

  • Dr Philippa Whitford (Ayrshire Central)

  • Corri Wilson (Ayr, Carrick & Cumnock)

  • Pete Wishart (Perth & Perthshire North)

Plaid Cymru

  • Jonathan Edwards (Carmarthen East and Dinefwr)

  • Liz Saville Roberts (Dwyfor Meirionnydd)

  • Hywel Williams (Arfon)

Independent MPs

  • Natalie McGarry (Glasgow East)

  • Michelle Thomson (Edinburgh West)

Green Party

  • Caroline Lucas (Brighton Pavilion)

Social Democratic and Labour Party

  • Mark Durkan (Foyle)

  • Dr Alasdair McDonnell (Belfast South)

  • Margaret Ritchie (Down South)