The government resignations as Boris Johnson becomes PM

Jeremy Hunt congratulates Boris Johnson after the former Mayor of London becomes the new Conservative leader. Credit: PA

As Boris Johnson takes the reins at 10 Downing Street it is thought a number of Theresa May's key ministers will hand in resignations.

The new prime minister is expected to name the most senior of his new Cabinet members by this evening and some of the most prominent MPs in Mrs May's government will be sacked if they don't quit.

The most senior resignation is that of Chancellor Philip Hammond, who said over the weekend he would resign before the new PM takes power.

Less than an hour after Mrs May's last Prime Minister's Questions, Mr Hammond tweeted his letter of resignation.

He wrote: "I believe that your successor must be free to choose a Chancellor who is fully aligned with his policy position."

David Lidington, effectively Theresa May’s deputy prime minister, has confirmed he is leaving the Government saying “it’s the right moment to move on”.

Theresa May leans on the Minister for the Cabinet Office David Lidington during her last Prime Minister's Questions. Credit: PA

Two other senior members of Mrs May's government, Rory Stewart and David Gauke, also resigned.

The International Development Secretary and Justice Secretary both congratulated Mr Johnson on his election win before indicating their plans to return to the backbenches.

After announcing his intentions in a tweet on Tuesday Mr Gauke took to social media again Wednesday morning, saying "a few ministers leaving government today".

The post, which was accompanied by a picture of him and Mr Stewart with artificially aged faces, added: "Some of us hope to return ... one day."

Mr Stewart also used Twitter to announce his intentions, writing: "Backbench tomorrow serving Cumbria. Thank you all. More walking!"

A number of less senior MPs have also resigned ahead of Mr Johnson's premiership, including Foreign Office Minister Sir Alan Duncan and education minister Anne Milton.

Here's a list of the Conservative MPs who have resigned from their roles so far:

  • Philip Hammond, Chancellor of the Exchequer

  • David Gauke, Justice Secretary

  • Rory Stewart, the Secretary of State for International Development

  • Sir Alan Duncan, Foreign Office Minister

  • Anne Milton, Education Minister