Covid: Full list of destinations exempt from quarantine on return to England

There are dozens of countries and territories in England's 'travel corridor' meaning people are not required to self-isolate on their return.

The government's 'travel corridors' list is ever-changing meaning that quarantine rules for travellers can change rapidly and without warning.

Under national restrictions, people in England are unable to travel abroad unless it is for work, education or other legally permitted reasons until December 2.

However, visitors from other countries are permitted into England and the rest of the UK but may have to quarantine depending on the country they travelled from - and they will be required to adhere to national restrictions.

The introduction of 'regional travel corridors' means the list has become more complex, with islands now being considered separate to their mainlands.

Mainland Greece was removed from the travel corridor list on November 12, excluding the islands of Corfu, Crete, Rhodes, Zakynthos and Kos, meaning that returnees from mainland Greece are now required to quarantine.

Popular destinations such as France and Spain are among the countries which were once considered safe, but have been removed from the list following spikes in coronavirus cases.

The government has lifted a travel ban on all visitors travelling frorm Denmark following concerns over a new strain of Covid-19 which has spread from mink to humans.

However, the country has not been added to the list and visitors landing in England from Denmark are required to quarantine for 14 days.

Approved destinations pose “a reduced risk to the public health of UK citizens” but the list will be kept “under constant review”, the Department for Transport said.

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office are keeping travel destinations under review, meaning the list is subject to change.

The full list of countries for which quarantine will not apply to people arriving back in England:

  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia (the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia will be removed from the exempt list at 4am on Saturday, November 14)

  • Anguilla

  • Antigua and Barbuda

  • Aruba

  • Australia

  • the Azores

  • Bahrain (from 4am on Saturday, November 14)

  • Barbados

  • Bermuda

  • Bhutan

  • British Antarctic Territory

  • British Indian Ocean Territory

  • British Virgin Islands

  • Brunei

  • Cambodia (from 4am on Saturday, November 14)

  • Canary Islands

  • Cayman Islands

  • Channel Islands

  • Chile (from 4am on Saturday, November 14)

  • Cuba

  • Crete

  • Dominica

  • Falkland Islands

  • Faroe Islands

  • Fiji

  • Finland

  • Gibraltar

  • Greek islands: Corfu, Crete, Kos, Rhodes and Zakynthos (people travelling from mainland Greece and other Greek islands will have to quarantine for 14 days from Saturday, November 14)

  • Greenland

  • Grenada

  • Hong Kong

  • Iceland (from 4am on Saturday, November 14)

  • Ireland

  • Isle of Man

  • Japan

  • Kiribati

  • Laos (from 4am on Saturday, November 14)

  • Macau

  • Madeira

  • Malaysia

  • Maldives

  • Mauritius

  • Micronesia

  • Mongolia

  • Montserrat

  • New Caledonia

  • New Zealand

  • Norway

  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands

  • Qatar (from 4am on Saturday, November 14)

  • Samoa

  • Seychelles

  • Singapore

  • Solomon Islands

  • South Korea

  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

  • St Barthélemy

  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha

  • St Kitts and Nevis

  • St Lucia

  • St Pierre and Miquelon

  • St Vincent and the Grenadines

  • Taiwan

  • Thailand

  • Timor-Leste

  • Tonga

  • Turks and Caicos Islands (from 4am on Saturday, November 14)

  • United Arab Emirates (from 4am on Saturday, November 14)

  • Vanuatu

  • Vietnam