What are the new Tier 4 areas from New Year's Eve? The full list of changes across England

Credit: PA

The government has added the Midlands, the North East, parts of the North West and parts of the South West of England to the toughest Tier 4 coronavirus restrictions.

It now means 44 million people in England (or 78% of the population) are under the strictest rules.

The changes will take place from New Year's Eve, at 00:01 Thursday 31 December.

Which tier of coronavirus restrictions will I live under? Areas in bold indicate they have moved tiers to come into effect on December 31.

Tier 4 - Stay at home

Tougher restrictions - equivalent to a lockdown - with the government urging people to stay at home.

  • Bedford, Central Bedfordshire, Milton Keynes, Luton, Peterborough

  • Berkshire

  • Birmingham and Black Country (Dudley, Birmingham, Sandwell, Walsall, Wolverhampton)

  • Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole

  • Buckinghamshire

  • Cambridgeshire

  • Cheshire and Warrington (Cheshire East, Cheshire West and Chester, Warrington)

  • Coventry

  • Cumbria (Eden, Carlisle, South Lakeland, Barrow-in-Furness, Copeland, Allerdale)

  • Derby and Derbyshire (Derby, Amber Valley, South Derbyshire, Bolsover, North East Derbyshire, Chesterfield, Erewash, Derbyshire Dales, High Peak)

  • Essex: Colchester, Tendring and Uttlesford

  • Gloucestershire (Gloucester, Forest of Dean, Cotswolds, Tewkesbury, Stroud, Cheltenham)

  • Gosport, Havant, Portsmouth, Rother and Hastings

  • Greater Manchester (Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, Wigan)

  • Hampshire (including Portsmouth and Southampton but excluding the Isle of Wight and the New Forest)

  • Hertfordshire

  • Isle of Wight

  • Kent and Medway

  • Lancashire (Burnley, Pendle, Blackburn with Darwen, Ribble Valley, Blackpool, Preston, Hyndburn, Chorley, Fylde, Lancaster, Rossendale, South Ribble, West Lancashire, Wyre)

  • the city of Leicester

  • Leicestershire (Oadby and Wigston, Harborough, Hinckley and Bosworth, Blaby, Charnwood, North West Leicestershire, Melton)

  • Lincolnshire (City of Lincoln, Boston, South Kesteven, West Lindsey, North Kesteven, South Holland, East Lindsey)

  • London: All 32 London boroughs and the City of London

  • New Forest

  • Norfolk

  • Northamptonshire (Corby, Daventry, East Northamptonshire, Kettering, Northampton, South Northamptonshire, Wellingborough)

  • North East (County Durham, Gateshead, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, North Tyneside, Northumberland, South Tyneside, Sunderland)

  • Nottingham and Nottinghamshire (Gedling, Ashfield, Mansfield, Rushcliffe, Bassetlaw, Newark and Sherwood, Broxtowe)

  • Oxfordshire

  • Solihull

  • Somerset Council (Mendip, Sedgemoor, Somerset West and Taunton, South Somerset)

  • Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent (East Staffordshire, Stafford, South Staffordshire, Cannock Chase, Lichfield, Staffordshire Moorlands, Newcastle under Lyme, Tamworth, Stoke-on-Trent)

  • Suffolk

  • Surrey (including Waverley)

  • SwindonTees Valley (Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, Stockton-on-Tees )

  • Warwickshire (Rugby, Nuneaton and Bedworth, Warwick, North Warwickshire, Stratford-upon-Avon)

  • West Sussex, East Sussex (except Hastings and Rother) and Brighton and Hove

Tier 3 - Very high alert

No mixing indoors. People can only meet outdoors in limited places such as parks and public gardens. Pubs and restaurants must close, with the exception of takeaway sales.

  • Bath and North East Somerset

  • Bristol

  • Cornwall

  • Devon, Plymouth, Torbay (East Devon, Exeter, Mid Devon, North Devon, South Hams, Teignbridge, Torridge, West Devon, Plymouth, Torbay)

  • Dorset

  • Hartlepool

  • Herefordshire

  • Hull

  • Leeds

  • Liverpool City Region (Halton, Knowsley, Liverpool, Sefton, Wirral, St Helens)

  • North Somerset

  • Rutland

  • Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin

  • South Yorkshire

  • South Gloucestershire

  • The Humber

  • West Yorkshire

  • Wiltshire

  • Worcestershire (Bromsgrove, Malvern Hills, Redditch, Worcester, Wychavon, Wyre Forest)

  • York and North Yorkshire (Scarborough, Hambleton, Richmondshire, Selby, Craven, Ryedale, Harrogate, City of York)

Tier 2 - High alert

No mixing indoors, apart from support bubbles. Up to six people can meet outdoors. Pubs and restaurants can open, with last orders at 10pm and closing at 11pm - but alcohol can only be served with a substantial meal.

  • Bracknell Forest

  • All other areas not listed in Tier 1 or Tier 3

Tier 1 - Medium alert

Up to six people can meet indoors or outdoors. Pubs and restaurants can open, with last orders at 10pm and closing at 11pm.

  • Isles of Scilly