Green list update: Azores and Canada among seven countries opened up for restriction-free travel

ITV News Consumer Editor Chris Choi outlines the travel list changes

Seven countries have been added to the UK's green travel list, meaning holidaymakers will be able to return from nations without any coronavirus restrictions.

The popular holiday destination of Azores, an autonomous region of Portugal, has moved from Amber to Green, providing a big boost to people hoping for a late summer getaway.

The other countries added to the green list are:

  • Canada

  • Denmark

  • Finland

  • Liechtenstein

  • Lithuania

  • Switzerland

Fully vaccinated people returning amber and green list countries are not required to isolate on return, but will still need to take pre-departure and day 2 tests, as well as having to complete a passenger locator form.

The changes will be come into force from 4am on Monday 30 August.

Canada’s addition to the green list is likely to increase the number of Canadian visitors to the UK - but the North American country continues to ban entry to British nationals.

Passengers on a flight at Heathrow Airport Credit: PA

Montenegro and Thailand have been added to the red list, meaning anyone returning from there must quarantine, whether or not they've been double vaccinated.

Montenegro and Thailand are being moved to the red list, the Department for Transport (DfT) said, due to "increased [Covid] case rates in these countries and the higher risk that travel from these countries poses to UK public health".

DfT added: "The data for all countries will be kept under review and the government will not hesitate to take action should the data show that countries’ risk ratings have changed."

Travel lists, which determine the quarantine and testing requirements for people arriving in the UK, are updated every three weeks.

Green and amber list travel: What you need to know

What does it mean when a country is on the green list?

It's important to note that just because a country is on the UK's green list, it doesn't necessarily mean the country is accepting UK citizens - Australia being one example - so check with the relevant country's government website for their latest rules on tourist arrivals.

People who are travelling to countries on the green list will need to take a Covid test up to 72 hours before they return to the UK and a single PCR test on or before day two of their arrival into the UK - but you do not need to quarantine unless the test result is positive.Children aged four and under are exempt from the test.

Back to top

What countries are on the green list?

From 4am on Monday 30 August, the Azores, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Liechtenstein, Lithuania and Switzerland will be added to the green list. These are the other countries already on the list:

  • Australia

  • Austria

  • Brunei

  • Bulgaria,

  • Caribbean Islands (Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, British Indian Ocean Territory, Barbados, Dominica, Granada, Cayman Islands, Montserrat, Turks and Caicos Islands)

  • Croatia

  • Falkland Islands

  • Faroe Islands

  • Germany

  • Gibraltar

  • Hong Kong

  • Iceland

  • Israel and Jerusalem

  • Latvia

  • Malta

  • Madeira

  • New Zealand

  • Norway

  • Romania

  • Singapore

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

  • South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands

  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha

  • Taiwan

Back to top

What countries are on the amber list?

No countries are being added to the amber list as part of the traffic light list changes coming into effect on Monday 30 August.There are currently more than 130 other countries on the amber list, including popular holiday destinations such as Spain, Portugal and Italy. The full list of amber list countries can be found on the UK government website.

What does it mean when a country is on the amber list?

If you're over 18 and not had two Covid vaccinations, on arrival in the UK from amber list countries you need to:

  • take a Covid test up to 72 hours before you return to the UK

  • quarantine for 10 days

  • take a test on or before day 2 and on or after day 8 after arriving in the UK.

However, if you've been fully vaccinated in the UK or under 18, you don't need to quarantine or take a day 8 test after you get back, but you still need to take a test on or before day 2 after arriving. You must have had your final dose of the vaccine at least 14 whole days before the date you arrive in England to be considered as fully vaccinated under the amber list rules.

Separate to these rules for UK citizens, since 2 August people fully vaccinated in the USA or most European countries will not need to quarantine if they have been in an amber list country in the 10 days before arriving. They will still need to take a test on or before day 2 after arriving.

Back to top