By-elections: Voters go to polls in Wakefield and Tiverton & Honiton

Polls have officially opened for the by-elections in Wakefield and in Tiverton and Honiton.

The two seats, in West Yorkshire and Devon, were won by the Conservatives in 2019.

Polling station for both by-elections will be open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday, with the results expected between 4am and 6am on Friday.

Want a quick and expert briefing on the biggest news stories? Listen to our latest podcasts to find out What You Need To Know

Eight candidates will stand in the Tiverton and Honiton by-election and 15 will stand in the Wakefield by-election.

Tiverton and Honiton by-election candidates:

  • Jordan Donoghue-Morgan, Heritage Party

  • Andy Foan, Reform UK

  • Richard Foord, Liberal Democrats

  • Helen Hurford, Conservative and Unionist Party

  • Liz Pole, Labour Party

  • Frankie Rufolo, The For Britain Movement

  • Ben Walker, UK Independence Party (UKIP)

  • Gill Westcott, Green Party

Wakefield by-election candidates:

  • Nadeem Ahmed, Conservative Party

  • Akef Akbar, Independent

  • Paul Bickerdike, Christian Peoples Alliance

  • Mick Dodgson, Freedom Alliance. Real People. Real Alternative

  • Sir Archibald Stanton Earl 'Eaton, The Official Monster Raving Loony Party

  • Jayda Fransen, Independent

  • Jordan James Gaskell, UK Independence Party

  • David John Rowntree Herdson, Yorkshire Party

  • Therese Hirst, English Democrats

  • Christopher Richard Jones, Northern Independence Party

  • Simon Robert Lightwood, Labour Party

  • Jamie Luke Needle, Liberal Democrats

  • Ashley Theo Blue Routh, Green Party

  • Ashlea Simon, Britain First

  • Chris Walsh, Reform UK