Boris Johnson appoints new ministers after more than 50 MPs quit government over his leadership

Credit: PA

Words by ITV News Content Producer Elaine McCallig

Boris Johnson has filled vacant positions in his Cabinet and begun making appointments across government, after more than 50 MPs resigned as ministers and aides over his leadership earlier this week.

While Mr Johnson has announced that he will resign, he has said he intends to remain as prime minister until a successor is in place, expected to be by the time of the Conservative Party conference in October or even, according to ITV News Political Editor Robert Peston, November.

Mr Johnson cannot remain in power without a functioning government so it is imperative for him to fill the vacant posts as quickly as possible in order to be able to stay in power.

And so, on Thursday and Friday a number of new appointments were made to government just minutes before Mr Johnson announced he would be resigning.

The newly appointed ministers to Boris Johnson's cabinet following an exodus of resignations in protest of his leadership

Chancellor for the Duchy of Lancaster - Kit Malthouse

Downing Street has appointed Kit Malthouse as chancellor for the Duchy of Lancaster, the most senior minister in the Cabinet Office after the prime minister.

The chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster administers the estates and rents of the Duchy of Lancaster, a private estate owned by Her Majesty The Queen.

Mr Malthouse was previously a minister of state in the home office and ministry of justice.

Levelling Up - Greg Clark

Michael Gove, the former levelling up secretary, has been replaced by Greg Clark.

Mr Gove was sacked by the prime minister on Wednesday night as calls for Mr Johnson's resignation intensified.

Tunbridge Wells MP Mr Clark was previously the business secretary between 2016 and 2019.

Education - James Cleverly

James Cleverly has been appointed education secretary.

Mr Cleverly is the third education secretary in three days. Nadhim Zahawi was the education secretary earlier this week, but replaced Rishi Sunak as chancellor when he resigned on Tuesday.

After less than 48 hours, new education secretary Michelle Donelan quit on Thursday morning.

Mr Cleverly was previously a minister of state (minister for Europe and North America) in the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO).

Wales - Robert Buckland QC

Downing Street has appointed Robert Buckland QC as Welsh secretary.

Mr Buckland was previously the lord chancellor and secretary of state for justice from July 2019 to September 2021.

The South Swindon MP replaces Simon Hart.

Northern Ireland - Shailesh Vara

Shailesh Vara has been appointed secretary of state for Northern Ireland, Downing Street said.

The North West Cambridgeshire MP replaces Brandon Lewis, who resigned on Thursday morning.

Mr Vara was previously a minister of state and parliamentary under-secretary in the Northern Ireland Office in 2018.

Minister without Portfolio - Andrew Stephenson

Andrew Stephenson has been appointed minister without portfolio. He will attend Cabinet.

The Pendle MP previously held ministerial roles at the Department for Transport, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and the Department for International Development.

The role of the minister without portfolio includes contributing to the government’s policy and decision making processes.

Minister for Veterans' Affairs - Johnny Mercer

Minister for Security - Stephen McPartland

Deputy Leader of the House of Commons - Peter Bone

Solicitor General - Edward Timpson CBE

Parliamentary Secretary at the Cabinet Office - Heather Wheeler

Minister of State at the FCDO - Graham Stuart

Minister of State at the Ministry of Defence - James Heappey

Minister of State at the Home Office and Ministry of Justice - Tom Pursglove

Minister of State at the Department for Education - Will Quince

Minister of State at the Department for Health - Maria Caulfield

Minister of State at the Department for Levelling Up - Paul Scully (he also remains Minister for London)

Minister of State at the Department for Levelling Up - Marcus Jones

Minister of State at the Department for Culture - Matt Warman

Minister of State at the Department for Transport - Trudy Harrison

Want a quick and expert briefing on the biggest news stories? Listen to our latest podcasts to find out What You Need To Know