More than half region's MPs vote against gay marriage

MPs debate gay marriage Credit: PA

More than half of the region's Conservative MPs voted against the Equal Marriage Bill in the Commons last night.

32 of the 62 Conservative MPs in the region voted No - although one, Andrea Leadsom (S Northants) went through both lobbies effectively abstaining.

One of the region's three Labour MPs, Gavin Shuker (Luton South) abstained. The others were in favour.

The region's four Lib Dem MPs voted in favour.

Among the Conservatives who voted against were several members of the government including Transport Minister Simon Burns (Chelmsford), Government Whip Mark Lancaster (Milton Keynes North) and Defence Minister Mark Francois (Rayleigh & Wickford).

Tories who voted against

Peter Aldous - WaveneyDavid Amess - Southend WestRichard Bacon - South NorfolkHenry Bellinghma - NW NorfolkSimon Burns - ChelmsfordDouglas Carswell - ClactonNadine Dorries - Mid BedfordshireMark Francois - Rayleigh & WickfordGeorge Freeman - Mid NorfolkSir Edward Garnier - HarboroughRob Halfon - HarlowSir Alan Haselhurst - Saffron WaldenJohn Hayes - South Holland & The DeepingsOliver Heald - North HertsPhilip Hollobone - KetteringStewart Jackson - PeterboroughMark Lancaster - Milton Keynes NorthAndrea Leadsom - S NorthantsDavid Lidington - AylesburyPeter Lilley - Hitchin & HarpendenAnne Main - St AlbansStephen McPartland - StevenageStephen Metcalfe - South Basildon and East ThurrockSir James Paice - SE CambsPriti Patel - WithamMike Penning - Hemel HempsteadDavid Ruffley - Bury St EdmundsAndrew Selous - SW BedsShailesh Vara - NW CambsJohn Whittingdale - Maldon

TellersPeter Bone - WellingboroughTherese Coffey - Suffolk Coastal